I fought the bunnies and the bunnies won

Remember how I told you about my garden, and how I was battling with the bunnies for my bean plants?  Well, I’m throwing up my white flag.

See that big bare spot?  That’s where my bean plants used to be.

After the bunnies ate the first round of my plants, I sowed some fresh seeds, determined not to let the bunnies get to these.  After they sprouted I spinkled cayenne pepper around the plants.  That didn’t work.

I put a cut off 2 liter soda bottle over the plants (well, over the one plant left after the cayenne didn’t work).  That didn’t work.

So I’m calling it a loss for this year.  I guess I’ll have to get my beans from the store or farmer’s markets this year.

But for all you bunnies out there, here’s a fair warning.  Next year, it’s game on!  Be it gun or be it fence, you will NOT have my beans next year.  {Channeling my inner Scarlet O’Hara} With God as my witness, I’ll never not have beans again!

*Ahem.*  Sorry.

So the rest of the plants are fairing pretty well.  The cucumbers and zucchini are really taking off.

The red peppers were doing great, but I guess without any bean plants to eat the bunnies have started attacking them now.

 

And the tomatoes are doing quite lovely.  Man I really can’t wait for these babies to come in.

And my basil is still alive.  Small, but alive.  At this rate I’ll have fresh basil in about October.  Oh well, I’ll take it over nothing.

And suprisingly my dill sprouted.  I really hope this keeps growing, because fresh dill rocks.  And I can use it with the cucumbers to can some pickles.  I’ve never done that before, but I’d love to give it a try.

Ugh, that’s a bad pic.  I should have gotten the dill in focus, not the dirt.  I’ll work on that for next time.

How is your garden coming?  Better than mine I hope.  What crops have you harvested so far?  Any losses yet?

5 responses

  1. LOL…I am in a similar boat!!! Critters ate my broccoli, my carrots never sprouted (or if the did they got eaten up before I saw them), cucumbers looking good, potted basil is rocking, bedded basil is at a standstill, and I really want tomatoes now!!!! My sis-in-law canned pickles last year and they were awesome! Do it, do it!!! Are you going on the Urban Farm and Garden Tour next weekend?!? It should be awesome! I will have a table at Cultivate KC. Stop by if you are in the area!!!

    • Glad I’m not the only one having trouble! 🙂 I don’t know if I’ll be at the tour next weekend, but if I do I’ll definitely stop by and introduce myself!

  2. Our garden is really taking off! Loving it! Like Heather said on FB, staple gun some chicken wire to the fence there in the back of your garden and that will help deter some rabbits. We wrap small amounts of chicken wire around individual plants or just lay some on the ground around the plant. For some reason it helps protect them. I don’t know if the bunnies don’t like the feel of it on their paws or what. Don’t over water your herbs.

    • I went ahead and wrapped chicken wire around the peppers so they don’t get totally destroyed. I’m going to have to just go ahead and fence it in next year. Ugh. I will definitely be sure not to overwater the herbs, thanks for the tip.

Leave a comment