Dem wascally wabbits

The rabbits strike again!  Remember how I posted pictures of how my plants are starting to emerge in my garden?  Well my bean plants have been attacked.  The leaves are completely gone.

This is what they looked like before.

This happened last year too, and the plants never grew any more nor ever produced any beans.  Sorry about this terrible picture.  I took it quickly, I didn’t realize it was so blurry.

I’m still hopeful, but I think I’ll go drop a few more seeds into the ground just to be safe.  That and of the 5 spaces where I planted seeds only 2 have sprouted, so maybe it’s time to try again.

We have some chicken wire we can wrap around the garden to try to keep the bunnies out.  I may have to get that out again.

They don’t attack any of the other plants, just the beans.  Anyone know why?

I just hope those bunnies learn to leave my plants alone, or I’ll sick Chad on them and we’ll end up eating rabbit stew one of these weeks.

(Just kidding.  Chad wouldn’t actually kill the bunnies.  At least not in our yard.  Not with his shotgun.  Because that would be illegal.  And I would not make rabbit stew either.  I’ve never had rabbit, but if I ever do it’s not going to be from the bunnies in my yard.  Unless it’s the apocalypse and I need to eat them to stay alive.  But that’s neither here nor there.)

Which of your plants get attacked by the creatures in your yard?  What do you do to prevent it?

7 responses

  1. Grinning, rabbits can be a ‘real’ garden killer.
    It has taken 3 months of relentless effort, but, between my 2 dogs and a well oiled pellet rifle and my large stew pot, I now have my rabbits {Hoard} or is that a herd, held at bay. You know what they say “they breed like rabbits”

  2. Sprinkling cayenne pepper on the ground usually does the trick…although, you may have to do it couple times a season as it washes away with the rain. Good luck!

  3. Pingback: I fought the bunnies and the bunnies won | Living the Dream

  4. Pingback: Busy | Living the Dream

Leave a Reply

