Midwest Mexican Recipe: Slow Cooker Chicken Enchilada Chili

Mexican is (most of) my family’s favorite style of cuisine.  We eat it a LOT.  I want to share some of my favorite recipes with you as well as try some new ones.  Now let me clarify — I am NOT Mexican.  I am no where near Mexican.  The closest I am to Mexican is I’ve been to Mexico twice.  And it was only Cancun and Puerto Vallarta, so I’m not sure that counts.  Anyway, my recipes are not necessarily authentic Mexican.  These are recipes using basic ingredients like meat, cheese, canned tomatoes, beans, chilis, sour cream, tortillas, chips, chili powder, cumin, etc.  What I like to call “Midwest Mexican”.  Ahhh, it all falls into place, doesn’t it?

I have a confession.  This isn’t a new recipe for me.  I made this last year.  And it was very good.  So when we had that turn of cold weather here last week I knew I had to break it out again.

Picture courtesy of Veronica’s Cornucopia.

I forgot to take a picture until it was all gone.  Oops.  So I borrowed one.  From a random blog.  Yep, I totally just did that.

The recipe actually comes from Momma Cooks who got it from A Year of Slow Cooking.  I changed up a few things.  The recipe below is how I made it.  Oh wait, I actually left out the chili powder.  Since my homemade enchilada sauce can often be a bit spicy, I left it out to avoid making it too spicy.  Not for me, for my weenie kids who can’t handle the spice.  (Are you picturing Jack Nicholson right now?  “You can’t handle the spice!”  If you have no idea what I’m talking about, go watch A Few Good Men.  Now.)  But I think next time I’ll add it back in.

This is a great, easy go-to recipe for the chilly days we have ahead.  (Get it, chili, chilly?  Ha!)  I’m on a roll today, huh?

Okay, enough of my antics, here is the recipe.

Slow Cooker Chicken Enchilada Chili

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 pounds boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 1/2 cups prepared enchilada sauce
  • 2 (14.5 oz) cans diced tomatoes (any kind of “flavor” you want)
  • 4 cups pinto beans (either 2 cans, drained and rinsed or prepared and cooked from dried)
  • 1 TBSP dried minced onion
  • 1-2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • Sour cream, shredded cheddar cheese and tortilla chips for toppings

Directions:

Place chicken in the bottom of the slow cooker.  Pour enchilada sauce and beans on top.  Add in onion, chili powder and cumin and mix together.  Cook on low for at least 6 hours.  Pull chicken out and shred then return to slow cooker before serving.  Serve with shredded cheese, sour cream, chips, or any of your favorite toppings!

Tip of the week:  Use dried beans (fully cooked, of course) in place of canned.  Prepared dried beans cost about half the price of canned, volume for volume.  And they don’t contain any of the additional preservatives that you may find in canned beans.  And in my opinion, they taste better and have a better texture.  They do take some extra time, but you can easily make them a day or two before and store them in the refrigerator before adding them to the slow cooker.  And it’s well worth it!

2 responses

  1. I adore Mexican food too, but I don’t often eat it – I have a mexican chicken recipe I really want to try by it’s impossible to get chipotle paste in this part of the world. I’ll keep searching though! This meal looks really delicious.

    • I have a great chicken taco soup recipe that you might enjoy too. And it doesn’t call for chipotle paste. 😉 I’ll share it soon as it’s a staple in our house during the cold months.

Leave a Reply

