My passion, my obsession. Oh, and some pretty sunflowers.

So as you know I’ve started my own photography business.  And I have to say, if I loved photography before, I’m loving it even more now.  I was worried doing it more and more would take the fun out of it, but so far, it’s made me even more obsessed.  I can spend hours and hours and hours reading up on new ideas, finding new and cool things to do in Photoshop, and of course, practicing.

Near to our house there are these empty fields that I’m sure are intended to be either residential or commercial property.  But I’m assuming that because of the economy there is nothing sitting in these lots.  And just this year it has exploded into a mass of sunflowers.  Well, I think they’re actually black-eyed susans, but it’s just easier to call them sunflowers.

So we spent some time on Sunday driving around the area to find a good spot where the sunflowers were close to the edge of the cut grass but where we still had some decent background.  I might have been brave enough to trek through the 2 foot tall weeds to get deep into the sea of flowers, but I wasn’t willing to take my kids out there.  Who knows what animals and bugs have made their homes out there.  Ick.

Anyway, we found a great spot, got the kids out (still all dressed in their Sunday church dresses), and I was all stoked to take their pictures.

And they did NOT want to cooperate.

*Sigh.*

The story of my life.

But I still got a few good snaps, and have had a lot of fun playing around with the editing.  The contrast of the blue skies, yellow flowers, green grass and pink dresses is to die for.  The contrast is amazing and the colors just make me so happy.

Enjoy!

One response

Leave a Reply

