Where were you when 9/11 happened?

As a kid I remember hearing adults speaking to each other around the time of the anniversary of the shooting of President John F. Kennedy

“Where were you when you heard that JFK was shot?”

As a kid I didn’t yet understand how something like that could make such an impact to so many people, and I was fascinated that all these adults could pinpoint exactly where they were and what they were doing when they heard the news.

Then 10 years ago the event we all know as 9/11 created the same remembrance in a new generation of Americans.

Photo courtesy of 911digitalarchive.org.

I will never forget being at work, sitting at my desk working on who-knows-what, when I got a phone call from my (now) husband (although we were just dating at the time) asking me if I’d heard about the plane crashing into the World Trade Center in New York City.  I had not, but immediately saw the images as I headed out to a news webpage.

Then in what seemed like minutes later, a second crash.

Then the news that this was no accident, but a terrorist attack on the U.S.

I will never forget spending hours trying to get onto websites to find more information (most of which were running incredibly slow due to the high traffic), watching the news on TVs in the hallway of our building as the story unfolded, and chatting with coworkers about who we knew in New York City and wondering if those we knew were safe.  We were all told to go home early that day since no one was getting any work done.  Heck, no one in the country was getting any work done, so it didn’t really matter.

I will never forget sitting on the sofa in my apartment with Chad, just glued to the TV to find out more information.

I will never forget being completely out of gas in my car, and having to fill up for over $4 per gallon (gas at the time was like $2 per gallon or less) because the gas companies were price gouging due to the uncertainty.  I only put like 5 gallons in my tank because I couldn’t imagine spending $50 to fill up my tank.  Ha, little did I know it would cost that much anyway 10 years later.

I will never forget being so moved to hear about all the firefighters, police officers, military personnel, and average Joes and Janes going in to help rescue as many people as they could.  Which, sadly, we all know now wasn’t very many.

Today as I watch the footage from that day and the days following it pulls at my heartstrings and brings me to tears.

We will never forget those who lost their lives in New York and Washington DC.

We will never forget those who helped rescue the victims.

We will never forget the heroism of those who brought down Flight 93.

We will never forget where we were when we heard the news.

“Where were you when 9/11 happened?”

Photo courtesy of september11news.com.

Leave a Reply

