Menu Plan 9/10 – 9/16

Every Thursday I plan to share what our meal plan is for the upcoming week.  Meal planning is one of the easiest, most controllable things you can do for your family to save money and eat healthier.  

As always:

I typically shop on Thursday or Friday because that is when our local stores typically start their “special sales”.  That and I don’t like shopping on the weekends because a) the stores are more crowded and b) we’re usually pretty busy on the weekends and I hate taking time away from family time for grocery shopping.

My meal plan goes from Saturday through Friday.  We typically eat out once a week, usually on Fridays, although we might change that up a bit to take advantage of kids eat cheap/free nights on the other days of the week.

For lunch the girls usually eat either tuna fish, hot dogs, peanut butter and jelly, grilled cheese, or quesadillas, along with fruit, veggies, yogurt, or some other quick and easy sides.  Chad usually takes leftovers as his lunch to work.   I usually have leftovers if they need to be eaten up, or will eat whatever the girls are eating.

So here is what is on the agenda for us this week.

Saturday:  Sirloin Steaks, Butter Potatoes

Sunday:  Chili!  (To celebrate the first Sunday of football for the season!)

Monday:  Black Bean Enchiladas

Tuesday Chicken Pot Pie

Wednesday:  Fish Tacos

Thursday:  Pizza

Friday:  Not sure yet — my parents are coming to visit (hi Mom!), we may eat out or maybe eat in and go out Saturday.  If I need something I’ll pick it up on next week’s shopping trip.

On the shopping list for this week: 

My goal is to spend under $100 each week on groceries.  I also want to track what percent of my budget I’m spending on what items.  Right now my major categories will be Fruit/Veggie, Meat, Dairy, and Other.  This week the totals are:

  • Fruit/Veggie 36%
  • Meat 9%
  • Dairy 29%
  • Other 25%

I stopped by Costco real quick last Saturday (by myself, woo hoo!) and grabbed some milk, olive oil and brown sugar.  I sure hope I can use up that sugar before it gets too hard.  Looks like I’ll just have to do more baking.  Darn.

Price Chopper has boneless skinless chicken breasts for $1.29, so I’ll grab a few packages.  Also they have Kraft cheese for $1.67 (3 for $5), and since it’s below my $2 threshold I’ll pick up several to keep on hand.

Hy-Vee has pears for $.99/lb and organic peaches/nectarines for $.99/lb.  I actually don’t need much fruit this week, I overbought last week and we still have a cantaloupe and grapes to eat up.   They also have asparagus for $1.99/lb, and since it’s never this cheap this time of year I’ll take advantage.  They also have cauliflower for $1.98 (and you know how much I love roasted cauliflower) and mushrooms for only $1.  The mushrooms are in the chicken pot pie and we’ll probably use them on our pizza.  Oh yeah, and Butter Kernel canned veggies are only $.59.  My kids have been really into eating canned green beans lately.  Not sure why, I prefer they eat fresh, but I’ll take it if it means they’re filling up on veggies for lunch.

I expect to spend around $75, yippee!  I may use the underspend to buy some sherry for cooking.  The pot pie recipe calls for it, plus I’ve had a lot of people tell me it’s worth it to buy a bottle, that it stays good for a long time and you can use in so many dishes.  If I do, beware, I’ll be on the lookout for more sherry recipes.

What’s on your menu plan for next week?

2 responses

  1. Your meals sound wonderful! As far as your brown sugar is concerned, I recommend buying (or if you already have one big enough) a rubbermaid container with an airtight lid and store it in there. It keeps quite a while that way.
    Thanks for sharing these!

    • I think I need to do that. Its in a resealable bag, but something tells me it will still get hard before I use it up. Again, just need to bake a lot more in the upcoming months. 😉

Leave a Reply

