Midwest Mexican Recipe: Chicken Enchilada Pasta

Mexican is (most of) my family’s favorite style of cuisine.  We eat it a LOT.  I want to share some of my favorite recipes with you as well as try some new ones.  Now let me clarify — I am NOT Mexican.  I am no where near Mexican.  The closest I am to Mexican is I’ve been to Mexico twice.  And it was only Cancun and Puerto Vallarta, so I’m not sure that counts.  Anyway, my recipes are not necessarily authentic Mexican.  These are recipes using basic ingredients like meat, cheese, canned tomatoes, beans, chilis, sour cream, tortillas, chips, chili powder, cumin, etc.  What I like to call “Midwest Mexican”.  Ahhh, it all falls into place, doesn’t it?

Ahhh, Pinterest.  How I love you so.  You give me so many good recipe ideas, and you do not disappoint.

Chicken.  Cheese.  Sour Cream.  I mean really, what’s not to love?

This recipe was fan. tas. tic.  I repeat, chicken, cheese and sour cream.  How could one go wrong?

Chad and I loved it.  Carlie even ate most of it (she’s the one who doesn’t usually like Mexican).  Maddie didn’t eat any, but lately she never eats dinner.  Lizzie made up for it by eating one and half plates full.  Seriously?  Where do babies put all this food?

It wasn’t very spicy, although it had the potential to be if you want it spicy.  But I used mild green enchilada sauce, and didn’t add in the extra chili powder since the red enchilda sauce I used is my own homemade kind, and it tends to be a bit spicy.  Also I used rotini (spiral) noodles, but you can use any noodle really.  I do recommend something chunky like rotini, penne, shell, or macaroni.

This is another recipe where using bone-in, skin-on chicken and baking it ahead of time in the oven or crock pot is very helpful.

Oh, and it tastes great as leftovers too.

Chicken Enchilada Pasta:

  • ~ 2 cups cooked chicken, shredded
  • 2 TBSP oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 medium onion
  • 1/2 red bell pepper
  • 1 – 4oz. can chopped chilis
  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 2 – 10 oz. cans green enchilada sauce
  • 1/2 cup red enchilada sauce
  • 2 cups shredded cheese
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1 pound pasta

Directions:

Cook pasta according to directions.

Meanwhile, heat oil in large pan, saute onion and pepper until soft.  Add garlic for just about 30 seconds, stirring frequently.  Add chilis, enchilada sauces, chili powder, cumin, and chicken.  Stir to combine, then let simmer over medium heat for 5-10 minutes.

Just before serving add in cheese and stir to melt.  Turn off heat, then add sour cream and combine well.  Pour over cooked pasta and serve!

Tip of the week:  Cheese that you shred yourself melts much better than the pre-shredded kind.  The coating they put on pre-shredded cheese to help prevent it from caking also seems to interfere with proper melting.  So whenever you’re melting shredded cheese into a dish I highly recommend buying a brick of cheese and shredding it yourself.

This recipe is based on one found on Pinterest from Pearls, Handcuffs and Happy Hour.

Leave a Reply

