Midwest Mexican Recipe: Chili Salsa Verde Bake

Mexican is (most of) my family’s favorite style of cuisine.  We eat it a LOT.  I want to share some of my favorite recipes with you as well as try some new ones.  Now let me clarify — I am NOT Mexican.  I am no where near Mexican.  The closest I am to Mexican is I’ve been to Mexico twice.  And it was only Cancun and Puerto Vallarta, so I’m not sure that counts.  Anyway, my recipes are not necessarily authentic Mexican.  These are recipes using basic ingredients like meat, cheese, canned tomatoes, beans, chilis, sour cream, tortillas, chips, chili powder, cumin, etc.  What I like to call “Midwest Mexican”.  Ahhh, it all falls into place, doesn’t it?

I was browsing through my friend Nina’s blog Momma Cooks last week searching for some ideas for dinner and came across this one.  Let me tell you, I was so pleased!

It was so easy to put together.  I made a few modificiations, like leaving out the onion, and I used chili beans, drained and slightly rinsed, in place of kidney beans.  The recipe below is written using my modifications.

Chad and I loved it.  Our oldest, Carlie, didn’t love it too much, she thought it was too spicy, but Mexican is really not her favorite.  Maddie loved it.  Lizzie ate her whole plate.  Then again, she always eats her whole plate.

As for the spicy factor, I’m not sure how much is from the chili beans vs. the salsa verde.  So if your family doesn’t like spicy you may want to find a mild version of both, or use plain kidney or pinto beans instead of chili beans.

But as I said, I loved it.  I served it with brown rice, but that’s probably not even necessary, it’s a meal in and of itself.

Chile Salsa Verde Bake

Ingredients:

  • ~ 2 cups cooked chicken, shredded
  • 16 oz jar salsa verde (green tomatillo salsa)
  • 1 can chili beans, drained and slightly rinsed
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 3 c. crushed tortilla chips
  • 8 oz. shredded Mexican style cheese

Directions:

Combine chicken, salsa verde, chili beans and sour cream.  Spray a 9×13 pan with cooking spray.  Spread half of the chips over the bottom.  Top with half chicken mixture, then sprinkle half the cheese on top.  Repeat the layers.  Bake at 375 degrees for about 15 minutes, or until cheese is bubbly.

Tip of the week:  Bone-in, skin-on chicken breasts are often on sale for $.99/lb or less.  Sprinkle them with salt, pepper, garlic powder and Italian seasoning (or cumin or taco seasoning if you know you’re going to use it all up in a Mexican dish), throw them in the oven at 400 for 25-30 minutes (drizzle with EVOO if you do this) or in a crock pot on low for 6-8 hours.  Let cool and pull meat from bone and skin.  Use the meat in dishes that call for pre-cooked chicken breasts.  You can also freeze the cooked meat for later use.

Thanks Nina for a great find!  Nina found the recipe on Tarah’s Food Reviews who got it from Rachael Ray.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

