Consignment season is here again, but this year it’s a little bittersweet.

Despite the fact that it’s still in the high 80s and 90s ’round these parts, the fall/winter clothing shopping season has begun.  I do get excited to get some new clothes for the kids, because let’s face it, by the time your kid has worn the same t-shirt and shorts for what seems like every day for the past four months, you’re ready for a change.  Since I have three girls and the clothes get passed down from one girl to the next, I also love pulling out the clothes for the little ones and remembering the cute things I have for them to wear this season.

But this year is a bittersweet for me.  We’ve decided that it’s time to go ahead and consign some of some of the clothes we don’t need anymore.  Which, since Lizzie is only 10 months, means baby clothes.

Bwah hah hah hah hah!!!!    (That’s me crying, in case you couldn’t figure it out.)

Despite the fact that we love our family of three girls and are pretty darned sure we’ll stay a unit of 5, I still had a hard time letting go of those baby clothes.  I have saved some of my favorite little outfits, but to get rid of the big bulk of clothes really made me nostalgic.  Yet on the flip side, I’m sitting here chastising myself because I keep remembering other things I could have dropped off that I forgot.  Oh well, there will be other sales.

So anywhos, if you’ve never shopped consignment before, I highly recommend it, especially if you have young kids who aren’t picky (yet) about what they wear and who ruin clothes easily.  Here in the KC metro we have a ton of sales.  My personal favorite is Here We Grow Again, they seem to always have the best clothes and a good layout so it’s easy to find what you want.  But many of the sales are very good, and I like that they’re staggered so you can shop one during one week, grab a few more things the next, etc.

This year I might experiment a bit though.  I think I might try to get some of Carlie’s clothes new using coupons and sales to maximize what I get.  JCPenney’s often does get $10 off a $10 purchase, and we all know Kohl’s consistently has 40% off or more sales.  Now that Carlie’s getting older the selection is a bit thinner at the consignment sales, plus I’m looking specifically for tunics and leggings, since I’m all but giving up on finding jeans that will fit this child.  So if any of you have suggestions on getting the most bang for your buck on new clothes for the current season, feel free to leave a comment!

So I’ve emptied out my baby clothes bins, I’ve put all the 2T and 3T fall/winter clothes in Maddie’s room, pulled out the 12 month and 18 month fall/winter clothes from storage for Lizzie, and tried on Carlie’s 4/5 clothes to see what fits and what doesn’t.  Now I just need to think about what the girls need for the season and make a list of what gaps I need to fill.

And then store the clothes in their closets until the weather cools off enough for them to wear it all.  Hmmph.

2 responses

  1. This might not work for everyone, but I shop the clearance racks at the end of the seasons to buy for the following year. About a month ago, I hit Kohl’s summer clearance racks and with a % off coupon, spent about $50 on a total of about 8 shirts and 6 shorts for Nolan and Reese. So far it’s worked for me estimating what size they will wear the following year as they’ve been pretty consistent in their growth (slow!). And if a few don’t fit, then you’re not out but a couple bucks.

  2. I have had good luck selling my better stuff on Craigs’ list. It takes a bit of work because I have to describe the item and add a picture, but for the nicer stuff it is worth it. I usually have people buying while I am still posting. The cheaper stuff I put in my garage sale or donate. I have also had great luck buying a season ahead. My almost 5 is on the small side and I haven’t had too many things that didn’t work. It also helps if you just buy a few things to get her started and then wait for stores to mark down the first round of fall stuff. The Once Upon a Child on 95th at Antioch has been a good source for me over the years. This last one has gotten almost all new because her next older sister is 8 years ahead of her and tall for her age. Right there with you on the swing tops and leggings, she won’t wear jeans, they have been my biggest miss in clothing as I keep thiinking she will start and keep buying them (always on sale!).

Leave a Reply

