Miscellaneous Monday: YA Sci-Fi, Lizzie in jail, Fantasy Football and Who’s the Boss?

After taking the weekends off I am too lazy find it hard to remember to get a post ready for Monday.  So I’m going to try out Miscellaneous Monday.  Just random thoughts or happenings from me.  If you’re like me you probably can’t handle much more than that on Mondays anyway, right?

Whew!  That was a long post title this week.  Let’s get down to bid-ness.

Miscellaneous #1:

I’m totally into this whole sci-fi young adult genre that’s so popular today.  I’m very much a fan of The Twilight Saga, I read The Hunger Games series in like a grand total of 5 days (for all three books), and of course you can’t leave out Harry Potter.  (Is that even part of this genre?  No matter, I love HP anyway.)  I just finished reading The Giver by Lois Lowry (decent, didn’t love the ending) and have Bumped by Megan McCafferty and Feed by M.T. Anderson on hold for me at the library.  I’m such a huge sci-fi dork fan (yes, I love Star Wars and own the whole collection) and I love the young adult versions because they’re short and easy to read.  I can usually finish one in a few hours.  Which is nice when you usually only get 15 minutes at a time to read due to three monsters tearing up your home lovely children playing nicely together.  Are they the most challenging literature to tackle?  Certainly not.

Miscellaneous #2:

Lizzie has now started standing.  This kid can pull herself to standing anywhere.  All she needs is something stable to touch — a chair, a wall, a person’s leg — and she’s up.  I don’t mind so much, but of course now when she wakes up from her nap or during the night she immediately pulls herself up and starts screaming bloody murder.  Which of course is kinda funny, since when you walk into her room and see her standing there, holding on to the sides of her crib and peering out at me, it’s like she’s in a jail or something.  Not that being in jail is funny.  It’s just funny to see a baby who looks like she’s in jail.  *Sigh.*

But of course it’s not really funny because she’s doing this when she’s supposed to be sleeping.  And you know I can’t just go in and put her back down and have her drift off to sleep peacefully.  Nope, I calm her down, try to walk out and BAM!  Scream city all over again.   After spending seven months of hell where I was exhausted 24/7 I am NOT ready for this.  I’m going to be optimistic and assume this is just a quick phase that she’ll outgrown in a few days or a week, tops.  If anyone dares to tell me it lasted more than that for their child I’ll just plug my ears (eyes?) and sing “LALALALALALALALA”.   Because I’m mature like that.

Miscellaneous #3

Fantasty Football draft is next week.  I’m very excited but already anxious about the draft.  I have a hard enough time making decisions in real life, how am I supposed to pick who I want on my fantasy team?

Miscellaneous #4

Last week was a bad week.  Just a bad, rotten, no-good week.  I’m hoping this week is better.

Scratch that.  This week WILL be better.  I’m going to show this week who’s the boss.  Ha, Who’s the Boss…that was a great TV show, wasn’t it?  We need more family friendly TV like that.  Wait…a male housekeeper and his daughter living with his female boss and her son and her snarky mom wasn’t family-friendly?  Okay, maybe not.

And that’s my random train of thought for the day.

That’s all for this Monday.  10-4, over and out.

Leave a Reply

