Garden 2011 Update: Am I done?

Okay, I totally don’t have a weekly menu and shopping plan for you this week.  I’m so, so sorry.  I know many of you look forward to it, and I hate to disappoint.  I hope to be back on track next week.

But in the meantime you get an update on my garden!  Or lack thereof, really.

As many of you out there are experiencing, the temperatures here in the Midwest are exhaustively hot.  So hot that I haven’t really take the kids out of the house besides the obligatory grocery store trip.

And as many of you in these hot zones are also experiencing, my garden is just not doing well.

All those cucumbers I started to get?

Well I’ve picked like 7, and have about 5 more still growing.  But that’s it.  And the plants look just pitiful.

And all those tomatoes on  my tomato plants?  Well, I’m still not sure what to make of those.  The two big ones look like they’re turning red.  But I’m not entirely sure if they’re actually ripening or if it’s a reaction to 3+ weeks of 100 degree heat.

And the rest of the tomatoes just have not grown at all.  They haven’t died or been eaten, but they haven’t turned red, and they haven’t grown.  It’s like they’re stuck in green tomato purgatory.

I’m so bummed, because I had so many plans for all the fruits (and vegetables!) of my labor.  My in-laws even found a ton of canning jars for super-cheap at an estate sale for me.

But alas, I suppose it’s not meant to be.

I haven’t given up hope yet, at least not on the tomatoes.  They may turn still.  It’s suppose to cool off a bit (and by cool off I mean a high of 90 degrees instead of 105), maybe that will help.  And worse comes to worse, I’ll see if I can find some good recipes for what to do with green tomatoes.  My sister-in-law’s mom made some great green tomato relish I might have to try to make myself.

How is your garden coming?  Are you still reaping produce or has it fizzled out?

3 responses

  1. LeeAnn, I am in the same boat you are {it seems} with my garden. It was humming along last month and then it all went to heck (or hell). I’ve sort of let “nature take its course” with the watering, so I’m guessing that’s probably the issue. A couple of my plants look like they might do something, like a last gasping breadth before they kick the bucket and finally die. Fingers crossed.
    Allison

  2. We just started getting okra last week. We’ve probably got 10 cantaloupes and a few watermelons, too. Our cucumbers have done really poorly also – usually I’m handing them to everyone who walks by at this time of the summer.

  3. Our garden is still doing well. I’ve got plenty of grape and cherry tomatoes, a good handful of heirloom tomatoes, a plethora of jalapenos, plenty of herbs, and my butternut squashes are still growing and ripening. Janelle–if okra becomes plentiful, I’d love to have some please if you’re willing to share 🙂

Leave a Reply

