Parks & Photography

We’re sort of on a park kick lately.  It’s been hotter than Hades around here lately, but if we stay cooped up in the house all day I want to kill the kids by noon.  So we’re trying to go out very early (like by 8:30 or 9:00) so we can come back home by 10 or 11.

Yesterday we went to a park where my nephew had his 2nd birthday party a few weeks ago.  It’s a wonderful park, one of our new favorites.  They have two playground areas, one is great for the little kids and one is good for older kids.  They also have a little man-made stream running through with lots of logs fallen over it, campfire-style sites where kids can sit, a little waterfall and a sandpit.

The best part about the place — in the morning it’s almost entirely shaded.  Yeah!

Anyway, the girls had a great time and gave me a chance to experiment and play around with my new lens (I just got a 35mm).  And I love it!  I tried not to make them pose too much, but occassionally I did.  Maddie wasn’t into it yesterday.  “Mommy, I don’t want my picture taken.”  I guess that happens when you have a mom who loves to take pictures.

See?  Mad about getting her picture taken.  But I love that I got to capture her pouty pants face.  Usually she just turns away.

Today I’m going to drag take them somewhere else.  Maybe Antioch Park, we haven’t been there in a while.  I can take pictures of the baby while the other two play, I didn’t really take many of her yesterday.

For those in the KC Metro, what are your favorite parks, to play or to take pictures/have your pictures taken?

One response

  1. What park is that? Sounds wonderful!!! We always just hit up the park outside of Deanna Rose but we need to find another one that’s equally as nice.

Leave a Reply

