Menu Plan 7/16 to 7/22

Every Thursday I plan to share what our meal plan is for the upcoming week.  Meal planning is one of the easiest, most controllable things you can do for your family to save money and eat healthier.  

As always:

I typically shop on Thursday or Friday because that is when our local stores typically start their “special sales”.  That and I don’t like shopping on the weekends because a) the stores are more crowded and b) we’re usually pretty busy on the weekends and I hate taking time away from family time for grocery shopping.

My meal plan goes from Saturday through Friday.  We typically eat out once a week, usually on Fridays, although we might change that up a bit to take advantage of kids eat cheap/free nights on the other days of the week.

For lunch the girls usually eat either tuna fish, hot dogs, peanut butter and jelly, grilled cheese, or quesadillas, along with fruit, mac & cheese, yogurt, or some other quick and easy sides.  Chad usually takes leftovers as his lunch to work.   I usually have leftovers if they need to be eaten up, or will eat whatever the girls are eating.

So here is what is on the agenda for us this week.  We’re having a Momma Cooks week.  I was having a major brain freeze on what to make and as always Nina gave me great recipes.

Saturday:  Aunt Bonnie’s Creamy Beef Enchiladas

Sunday:  Sirloin Steaks, Baked Potatoes

Monday:  Tuna Noodle Casserole from Momma Cooks

Tuesday Skillet Lasagna from Momma Cooks

Wednesday:  Coronado Casserole from Momma Cooks

Thursday:  Breakfast for Dinner OR pizza OR leftovers

Friday:  Eat out

On the shopping list for this week: 

My goal is to spend under $100 each week on groceries.  I also want to track what percent of my budget I’m spending on what items.  Right now my major categories will be Fruit/Veggie, Meat, Dairy, and Other.  This week the totals are:

  • Fruit/Veggie 32%
  • Meat 14%
  • Dairy 34%
  • Other 19%

We hit the farmer’s market again on Wednesday and grabbed zucchini, green beans, corn, tomatoes, fresh dill and a cantaloupe.

Oh, and we finally have some garden produce.  I think I have the slowest growing garden in the world.  We got two whole cucumbers.  Woo hoo!

Here are the cucumbers:

And here are the cucumber pickers.  Well, holders, really.

Don’t you wish you had these helpers for your garden?  They may not be efficient workers but they are awful cute.

And I stopped by Costco to get milk, butter and coffee.  I ended up getting four gallons of milk.  Four gallons!  But Costco’s milk has a long expiration, and I use about 1/2 to 1 gallon every few weeks for homemade yogurt.  And homemade yogurt is sooooo much cheaper and healthier and greener (less waste) than buying the containers.

I plan to hit Price Chopper and HyVee this week too.  PC has boneless skinless chicken for $1.19/lb, Triscuits for $1.49, cherries for $1.99/lb and strawberries for $1.99 for a 2 lb clamshell.  And I need a whole host of other stuff like tortillas, ricotta, sour cream, etc.

I also need to go to Hy-Vee for some peaches for $.88/lb, canned tomatoes and tomato sauce for $.50/can, sirloin steak for $2.99/lb and Kraft shredded cheese for $1.49/lb.  But I have to go on Friday since the cheese (and maybe the meat, I can’t remember) are on sale for Friday/Saturday this week.

So I’ll be almost $30 over, but I was $20 under last week since I knew I had the Costco trip this week, and I’ll cut $10 out next week to make up for it.

What’s on your menu plan for next week?  Any ideas for me for future weeks?

Leave a Reply

