Food Waste Friday: Lettuce and olives

Part of saving money, especially when it comes to groceries and food, is to not waste the food that you do buy.  If you work hard to save money and purchase good, wholesome food for your family, then why would you want to throw it in the trash each week?

Now I’m not clever enough to have come up with Food Waste Friday on my own.  I’m participating along with some other great ladies, including Kristen, a.k.a The Frugal Girl.  Why don’t you join us and see how much money you can save by actually eating all the food you buy?

Well, we had just a bit more food waste from Operation DeclutterWeek 2 was cleaning out the pantry and refrigerator/freezer.  Surprisingly I didn’t have much in either to throw out, which tells me I’m doing a good job with managing our food supply.

However I did not escape completely unscathed.

I did toss a jar of green olives that have been in there since maybe the holidays.  Which is soooo surprising given how much I love olives.  I think I was saving them, then forgot about them, then realized they weren’t looking so hot but thought I might still use them, and then realized now it’s just too late.

The other casualty of this week is some lettuce.  I meant to use it up, but then didn’t have anything to make it into a salad, and I just didn’t have the energy to come up with something else creative.  It wasn’t too much though, so I’m not that upset with myself.

Update:  I took another look at the olives.  I changed my mind, I think they might still be edible.  But if you don’t hear from me by next week assume they were not and I’m in bed with food poisoning.  Or dead.  But probably the former.  Or none of the above, because if they’re bad I’m guessing they won’t *actually* give me food poisoning.  I guess we’ll see.

But I already threw the lettuce out so I’m not retaking a picture and retyping my post.  So you get an update instead.  Updates are kinda cool.  I like writing in all italics.  Okay, I’m done now.  Happy Friday.

How about you?  How much food do you waste each week?  Join us in trying to create a food waste-free household!

3 responses

  1. We try to use up all our little bits of food by having Odds and Ends night. I take everything out of the fridge that needs to be finished and everyone eats something different. My girls actually look forward to this night and we don’t often have too much fighting because they like different things. Unfortunately this doesn’t end our problem of wasting, but it does cut it down and it is a night off for the cook!

    • That’s an awesome idea Lauren! Especially giving the cook a night off! 🙂 We’ve always been leftovers eaters, I thank my mom for instilling that in me. Our weekend lunches tend to follow that trend too. Thanks for commenting!

  2. I follow the rule “When in doubt, throw it out” 🙂 So those olives would surely be in the trash in my house 🙂 I find that meal planning really cuts down on food waste, but occasionally there is still some forgotten stuff on the back of the fridge.

Leave a Reply

