Menu Plan 7/9 to 7/15

Every Thursday I plan to share what our meal plan is for the upcoming week.  Meal planning is one of the easiest, most controllable things you can do for your family to save money and eat healthier.  

As always:

I typically shop on Thursday or Friday because that is when our local stores typically start their “special sales”.  That and I don’t like shopping on the weekends because a) the stores are more crowded and b) we’re usually pretty busy on the weekends and I hate taking time away from family time for grocery shopping.

My meal plan goes from Saturday through Friday.  We typically eat out once a week, usually on Fridays, although we might change that up a bit to take advantage of kids eat cheap/free nights on the other days of the week.

For lunch the girls usually eat either tuna fish, hot dogs, peanut butter and jelly, grilled cheese, or quesadillas, along with fruit, mac & cheese, yogurt, or some other quick and easy sides.  Chad usually takes leftovers as his lunch to work.   I usually have leftovers if they need to be eaten up, or will eat whatever the girls are eating.

So here is what is on the agenda for us this week.

Saturday:  Chicken Piccata Toss, Zucchini, Homemade Bread (this is a new recipe, I’ll let you know how it turns out)

Sunday:  BBQ Meatloaf, Baked or Fried Potatoes, Corn on the Cob

Monday:  Chicken Teriyaki with Ginger Cilantro Rice (also new), Carrots or Green Beans

Tuesday Spaghetti, Homemade Bread

Wednesday:  Breakfast for Dinner, Homemade Biscuits

Thursday:  Ravioli with whatever remaining veggies need to be eaten

Friday:  Homemade Pizza or eat out

On the shopping list for this week: 

My goal is to spend under $100 each week on groceries.  I also want to track what percent of my budget I’m spending on what items.  Right now my major categories will be Fruit/Veggie, Meat, Dairy, and Other.  This week the totals are:

  • Fruit/Veggie 44%
  • Meat 25%
  • Dairy 10%
  • Other 21%

Love that high fruit/veggie percent!  That’s two week in a row now.  I’m on a roll, I guess.

On Wednesday we went to the farmer’s market and picked up some corn, green beans, peaches and blueberries.

We also hit up Penzy’s spice store (thanks to my readers for the suggestion!) where I got 4 ounces of ground cumin for $4 and 4 ounces of ground mustard for $2.  The mustard was an especially great deal — that’s a lot of mustard for a small price.  I use it in a lot of salad dressings and in my homemade macaroni and cheese, so I’m really excited to find it for so cheap.

Then I’ll end up at Price Chopper to grab the rest — 93% lean ground beef for $2.49/lb, split chicken breast for $.99/lb (I’ll cook it in the crock pot for the Chicken Piccata Pasat Toss), shredded cheese for $.99, peaches, blueberries, pineapple and mangos on sale.  Also sugar is on sale for $1.99, and while I’m not out I like to grab it when it’s on sale.  And a few other random things, like capers, cooking spray, some pasta, and a new yogurt for a starter for my homemade yogurt (I like to start with fresh yogurt every once in a while).  And some other staples at our house like apples, bananas, and eggs.

Right now my plan has me at just under $80 which I’m glad about.  I need to hit Costco next week for some milk, dishwasher soap, and butter.  Mmmm, butter.  Oh, and maybe some coffee and extra-virgin olive oil.  So I’ll need some cushion for that.  I do have a Costco problem, don’t I?

So what’s on your menu for the next week?

4 responses

  1. You’re welcome on the spices! Today I am making four of my black bean and corn enchilada pies. Three are for friends with new babies and one is for us. They are cheap, easy, and everyone loves them. The rest of the weekend will be a lot of farm to table salads, grilled burgers, and re-testing muffin recipes for my next book. Let me know if you want to be a tester for me!

  2. this is a very random comment…did you recently post an oven roasted potato recipe?!? Looking for one tonight and read a potentially tasty one recently. Just scored freshly harvested baby potatoes. Allready planned on roasting green beans and sausage..must add potatoes!

    • I did a homemade oven fries post. You might be able to gleen from that, I’ll post the link to your FB page. I’d just cut the baby potatoes into small wedges, coat with olive oil and some seasonings (garlic and/or onion powder, Italian seasoning or just rosemary if you like) and roast in the oven for about 25 – 30 minutes at 425. HTH!

Leave a Reply

