Menu Plan 7/2 to 7/8

Every Thursday I plan to share what our meal plan is for the upcoming week.  Meal planning is one of the easiest, most controllable things you can do for your family to save money and eat healthier.  

As always:

I typically shop on Thursday or Friday because that is when our local stores typically start their “special sales”.  That and I don’t like shopping on the weekends because a) the stores are more crowded and b) we’re usually pretty busy on the weekends and I hate taking time away from family time for grocery shopping.

My meal plan goes from Saturday through Friday.  We typically eat out once a week, usually on Fridays, although we might change that up a bit to take advantage of kids eat cheap/free nights on the other days of the week.

For lunch the girls usually eat either tuna fish, hot dogs, peanut butter and jelly, grilled cheese, or quesadillas, along with fruit, mac & cheese, yogurt, or some other quick and easy sides.  Chad usually takes leftovers as his lunch to work.   I usually have leftovers if they need to be eaten up, or will eat whatever the girls are eating.

So here is what is on the agenda for us this week. I try to serve veggies with every meal, so I won’t repeat that for each day.

Saturday:  We got a 50% off pizza from Papa Murphy’s, I think we’ll have it this day.

Sunday:  Dinner at the in-laws for the 4th!

Monday:  Grilled chicken, quinoa salad

Tuesday Sloppy Joes, Homemade fries

Wednesday:  Chicken pesto pizza

Thursday:  Breakfast for Dinner, Homemade Biscuits

Friday:  Maybe eat out.  Or hamburgers & oven fries.

On the shopping list for this week: 

My goal is to spend under $100 each week on groceries.  I also want to track what percent of my budget I’m spending on what items.  Right now my major categories will be Fruit/Veggie, Meat, Dairy, and Other.  This week the totals are:

  • Fruit/Veggie 39%
  • Meat 12%
  • Dairy 19%
  • Other 31%

On Wednesday we went to the farmer’s market and picked up some zucchini, broccoli, corn and green beans.

I could spend hours, and my entire weekly budget, at a farmer’s market.  Love them.

I also swung by Costco and got 3 new gallons of milk.  Did you know it was possible to go to Costco and only get one item?  And only get the item you went in for?  I know, crazy, isn’t it?  Who knew?

Although I will say I also went in there to look for some cumin.  As much Mexican as we eat we go through a lot of cumin, but sadly they don’t carry it.  Boo.  Maybe I can start a campaign on Change.org for bringing cumin to Costco.  No?  Okay.

I also plan to stop by Hen House (one I don’t go to very often) to pick up a $2.99 watermelon, canteloupe, grapes, potatoes, bratwurst and $1.67 Triscuits.

Then I’ll end up at Price Chopper to grab the rest — ground beef for $1.77/lb and a lot of other random stuff.  If you follow me on Facebook you know I found a recipe for S’Mores bars I really want to try, and all I need to buy is marshmallow creme and graham crackers.  I can squeeze that into this week’s budget.  I also need a few things for a pasta salad I plan to bring to the in-law’s BBQ on Sunday.

I worked this week to get the spend to $50 or below, and right now I’m sitting at $45.  We had to spend a few extra bucks this month on some unexpected items, and I knew I could make $50 work this week and use up some of the stuff in the freezer.

So what’s on your menu for the next week?

3 responses

  1. Best way to get quality spices on a budget is Penzey’s spices. They sell most of their simple herbs and spices in plastic bags (I know) at a fraction of a cost of the glass jars! We hit them up on Wednesday’s after the OP Farmers market. They also have open jars of all the spices for the kids (I mean us) to smell. Annie and I have been smelling spices together since before she could walk. Fun activity!!!

    • I actually was just there yesterday but they weren’t open yet when we left. I wasn’t sure of their pricing, glad to hear it’s affordable! I need to time my trip different next time. I think I’ll plan to hit them up next week. Thanks Katie!

  2. I love Penzeys! And I did stop in after the farmer’s market yesterday. I had a couple of their coupons saved up and walked out with four new jars for $6. Sweet. Definitely sign up for their magazine/newsletter – lots of great recipes and usually a coupon for a free jar on the front. And they have a coloring station which keeps Isabel occupied while I walk around sniffing everything.

Leave a Reply

