Homemade: Stovetop Macaroni & Cheese

I’m a huge fan of macaroni and cheese.  HUGE.  In fact, I practically lived on Kraft Macaroni & Cheese.  And peanut butter and jelly.  Ahh, comfort food.

Right, Mom?  She can back that up.

Anyway, in my quest to eliminate artificial ingredients and pay more attention to what is in the foods my family is eating I’ve stopped buying boxed mac and cheese.  Occasionally I’ll grab some boxes of Annie’s brand, but my kids just don’t like it that much.

So I’ve been working on finding a homemade mac and cheese that we all like.  And that’s easy.  And that’s not super-expensive.  And I found one that meets at least two of those three criteria, which are that we love it, and it’s easy. 

So far my math says it’s about $3.50-ish per pot, which is about 8 servings.  Certainly not cheaper than the boxed kind, and I would also certainly not consider this healthy by any means.  But it’s real food and is a fun, special treat for my kids who don’t get mac & cheese very often.

This is Alton Brown’s recipe from Food Network.  So far I haven’t changed a thing.  It’s fantastic.  Fabulous.  Cheesy and gooey and lovely.

First, bring a pot of water to a boil and cook about 8 ounces macaroni noodles.

While the noodles are cooking shred 8 to 10 ounces sharp cheddar cheese.  Do NOT use pre-shredded cheese.  That kind has anti-caking additives to it that will not allow it to melt properly.  The extra work is worth it, I promise.  And do use sharp cheddar, mild won’t give the same flavor.  Trust me on this one too.

Then whisk together evaporated milk, eggs, hot sauce, salt, pepper, and dry mustard.

Once the noodles are al dente, drain them, and while they are draining throw the 4 Tablespoons of butter into the pan and let it melt a bit.  I told you this wasn’t healthy.

And then add the noodles back into the pot and toss to coat.

Then add the egg/milk mixture to the noodles and mix thoroughly.

Then shred another 8 ounces of cheese since you ate what you already shredded.  Wait, you didn’t do that?  Oh yeah, I didn’t either.  I was just kidding.  Ha ha ha. 

Hmmmm.

Okay, then add the cheese to the pot.

Stir it all thoroughly and let it sit on the hot burner for a few minutes to melt together, stirring occassionally.

Put a huge heaping spoonful (or ten) onto a plate.  Try not to embarrass yourself too much in front of your family/friends/dog as you inhale it. 

Oh goodness, my mouth is watering.

Come to mama.

Here’s the full recipe, enjoy!

Homemade Stovetop Macaroni & Cheese

Ingredients

  • 1/2 pound elbow macaroni
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 6 ounces evaporated milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon hot sauce
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • Fresh black pepper
  • 3/4 teaspoon dry mustard
  • 8 to 10 ounces sharp cheddar, shredded

Directions

In a large pot cook the pasta to al dente and drain. Melt the butter in the pot and return pasta to the pot. Toss to coat.

In the meantime whisk together the eggs, milk, hot sauce, salt, pepper, and mustard. Mix into the pasta.  Add the cheese and stir over low heat until melted and creamy.

6 responses

  1. I’ll have to try this one!! I used a crockpot recipe from Taste of Home the last time and it was delicious also. Made a lot and enough for leftovers. ;o)

Leave a Reply

