Little Miss Messy

***WARNING: The following post contains images that are grubby, filthy and dirty.  Viewer Reader discretion is advised.***

Little kids and their messes.  They can hardly help it, but I do have to say that I think their messes are the bane of my existance.  I used to be such a neat and tidy person.  That has gone to the wayside.  Waaaayyy to the wayside.

We’ve been feeding Lizzie table food for a while now.  Her pincher grasp is far from developed, so she typically shoves whole handfuls of food in her mouth.  Of which only about 25% actually gets in her mouth. 

When we started table food I was excited because in my head I thought it would be easier/simpler/less time consuming to just give her what we’re eating.  Less time making baby food.  Not having to spend time sitting down to feed her.  Just dump some chopped up food on her tray and let her go to town.

Apparently I forgot to take into account the amount of time it takes to clean her up after eating. How easily one forgets (even though none of my kids are more than two years apart.)

She has this idiosyncrasy when she eats to rub her chubby, grubby, food covered hands on her face, which as I’m sure you can guess creates a big old mess all. over. her. face.  And ears.  And neck.  It’s caked in her eyebrows and on her eye lashes and up her nose. 

And she looks like this.

“You talkin’ ’bout me?”

Yes, my love, I am.

“You better not be blabbin’ all about me on the Internet, Mom.”

Sorry dear, but you’re just too cute – and messy – not to share.

“Well, I *am*awful cute.  I suppose we shouldn’t deprive the world.  Make me a star, Momma.”

Okay, my love, but let me wipe up your face first.

*Sigh.*  Will anything ever be easy with this child?

On the plus side I can safely say she’s sleeping through the night now.  It’s been over a month, including our trip to St. Louis, and she either sleeps through the night or only wakes up once for a few minutes and goes back to sleep.  

Yippee for no more crazy exhaustion for this mom!  It only took her five months longer than her sisters.  Better late than never I suppose.

And did I just say “yippee”?  *Sigh.* Again.

One response

Leave a Reply

