Recipe Saturday: Greek Pasta Salad

You know what I love about pasta salad?

Everything.

I love that you can make pasta salad any way you want.

Vinaigrette dressing?  Okay.  Creamy?  Great.  Veggies, meat, cheese, anything you want can go into it.  Totally customizable.

One of my favorites is Greek-style.  So here is how I love to make it, but feel free to change it up based on your own preferences.

Greek Pasta Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb pasta, any shape, although something chunky works best (i.e. rotini, shells, macaroni)
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1/2 cucumber, seeded and diced
  • 1/2 can black olives, halved
  • 1/2 red onion, cut into large chunks
  • 4 oz. feta cheese, crumbled
  • 1/2 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 3/4 tsp onion powder
  • 3/4 tsp Dijon mustard
  • salt & pepper to taste

Cook pasta according to package, al dente style.  Drain and rinse in cold water after cooking.  Meanwhile mix together vinegar and all spices and mustard.  Whisk in olive oil until incorporated.  Toss pasta and veggies with dressing, refrigerate for several hours.  Add feta before serving.

Now if I wasn’t on a tight budget I’d add artichoke hearts, would use cherry tomatoes cut in half or quarters, kalamata olives instead of black olives, and I’d use an English cucumber.  Oh, and I’d double the feta.  Mmmm, feta.

But alas, for now I’ll stick to my version.  It’s still delicious, and definitely fills that Greek craving.

P.S. I apologize for the horrible food photography.  I really need to read up on how to take better food pictures.  But one of those ways is getting a better lens, for which I’m saving up right now.  So until I finally get those things done, you get this.  Something is better than nothing, right?

Leave a Reply

