Food Waste Friday: Do spices count?

Part of saving money, especially when it comes to groceries and food, is to not waste the food that you do buy.  If you work hard to save money and purchase good, wholesome food for your family, then why would you want to throw it in the trash each week?

Now I’m not clever enough to have come up with Food Waste Friday on my own.  I’m participating along with some other great ladies, including Kristen, a.k.a The Frugal Girl.  Why don’t you join us and see how much money you can save by actually eating all the food you buy?

So as part of Operation Declutter I’ve been cleaning out the cupboards and drawers in my kitchen.  On Thursday I went through the spice cabinet and found a few that I’m ashamed to say I don’t know how old they are.  I’m thinking it’s possible they are 8 to 10 years old. 

Seriously.  No joke.

Two are spice blends (you know, Lemon Pepper, Grill Seasoning, etc.), and I did hesitate to throw them out.  But given their age, that almost all had some kind of oils or other added stuff on the ingredient list, and my desire to truly rid my house of things I don’t need, I said screw it, and chucked them.

And that meat tenderizer.  Another one that I have no idea when I bought it, nevertheless why I bought it.  It’s basically glorified salt.  With other crap.  This was obviously way before I actually cared about what I was cooking.

Next week I have to clean out my non-refrigerated condiment cabinet (think vinegars, soy and Worcestershire) and then I plan to start on the pantry, so my food waste might go up as I throw out the junk we just don’t need lying around.

Things could get interesting around here.

How about you?  How much food do you waste each week?  Join me in trying to create a food waste-free household!

6 responses

  1. We just cleaned out all of our kitchen prior to a remodel and I KNOW that some of the spices were at least 8 years old! So, you’re not alone 🙂

    • Isn’t that right, Mary? I have some Beau Monde spices for a rye bread dill dip. I’m sure it cost me like $5 way back in the day and I’ve used like 1 TBSP from the whole thing. I look at it the other day, it’s basically just salt, onion powder, and celery seed (and some other crap). And the recipe I bought it for called for celery seed too! So why didn’t the recipe just call for extra celery seed, salt and onion powder? It’s a conspiracy to make us buy stuff we don’t need.

    • What’s sad Jane is I’ve been through 2 moves since I bought these. I should have chucked them then, but I’m sure I thought to myself “I’ll use them someday!”. Yeah, apparently not.

Leave a Reply

