Food Waste Friday: Enchilada sauce and yeast

Part of saving money, especially when it comes to groceries and food, is to not waste the food that you do buy.  If you work hard to save money and purchase good, wholesome food for your family, then why would you want to throw it in the trash each week?

Now I’m not clever enough to have come up with Food Waste Friday on my own.  I’m participating along with some other great ladies, including Kristen, a.k.a The Frugal Girl.  Why don’t you join us and see how much money you can save by actually eating all the food you buy?

I missed last week since I was in St. Louis visiting my family and doing cool, fun things.  We had a ton of leftovers from Carlie’s birthday party and from a few other dishes I made in anticipation of having lots to eat for Chad so he didn’t starve while we were gone.

Unfortunately he didn’t eat them all while we were gone, but no worries, this cheap frugal lady was not about to let them all go to waste!  I salvaged leftover homemade mac and cheese and PW’s Spicy Dr. Pepper Shredded Pork by heating the pork, adding a can of chili beans and a can of tomatoes with chilis and dumping in the macaroni and cheese.  Delish!  I even had a few leftovers of the leftovers which I ate the next day.

However, the homemade enchilada sauce did not escape my clutches.  I had intended to use it in some taco soup for Chad while we were gone, but we ended up not needing to make that.  Then I was going to add it to the aforementioned mac & cheese and pork mixture, but when I opened it up, I found this.

Yes that’s mold.  And I’m not sure what those chunky looking things are in the sauce.  Ew.

I also threw away an opened packet of yeast that I found in my cabinet.  I have no idea how old it is since its been eons since I bought individual packets.  I didn’t think it would be very active, so I tossed it.  No pictures of that one.

But that’s it for this week.  I can’t believe I didn’t throw away any of our massive leftovers.  I consider that a pretty big success.  Woo hoo!

How about you?  How much food do you waste each week?  Join me in trying to create a food waste-free household!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

