My little Madeline

I’ve shared a bit more about Carlie  and wished her Happy Birthday, so to be fair I thought I’d give you all a bit of insight into Maddie.

My Madeline.  My little Madeline.  My Madeline Marie.

This child is my heart.  I almost don’t even know how to describe her.  She’s charismatic, funny, super-duper cute, a ham, and she knows how to charm your socks off.

I joke that she is our surprise baby (we wanted another child, we just didn’t expect it to happen so soon) who never fails to surprise us.  But we know God gave her to us for a reason.

She was the littlest of my kids, weighing in at a whopping 5 lbs 11 oz at birth.  And she was only born a few days before her due date.

Today she entertains all of us by her amusing actions and words.  For example one day she took her play keys and pretend money and walked away from me.

Maddie:  Bye Mommy!

Me:  Bye, where are you going?

Maddie:  (very matter of fact)  Communion.

Me:  Oh, really, Communion?

Maddie:  Yeah.  Pretend Communion.

Me:  Oh, pretend Communion? (Chuckling pretty hard by now.)

Maddie:  (seeing me laugh).  Yeah.  I cute Mommy, I cute.

Me:  Yes Maddie, you’re very cute.

What a ham.  She saw me laughing and played it up, knowing I’d keep laughing at her.  But she doesn’t do it to get attention.  She does it because it’s what she wants to do.  She likes entertaining people. 

Although I admit lately I’m beginning to think she’s becoming a bit narcissistic. She’s constantly saying “I cute Mommy. And I funny!”  She loves to watch herself in the mirror and lately has taken to kissing herself in the mirror too. 

*Sigh.*

I’m absolutely adoring this age with her.  I’m trying to absorb every minute.  Now don’t get me wrong, she still throws typical 2-year old tantrums and can be very stubborn when she wants to be.  And right now she’s struggling with big sister Carlie being home full time (so less Mommy one-on-one time) plus she’s getting her two year molars.  So she’s a bit cranky these days.

But that’s nothing.  I can deal with that.  Because 90% of the time she’s 150% adorable. 

I just want to freeze time right now and never let her grow a minute older.

I want to always look into those baby blue eyes framed by dark eyebrows and wisps of blonde hair and see the excitement and energy and innocence not yet tainted by the perils of this world.  I want to always be able to hug her tiny little body and savor every long kiss she gives.  I want to watch her dance and move to her children’s songs and hear her sing Itsy Bitsy Spider and Twinkle Twinkle over and over and over again.

Thank goodness for video cameras.  And my wonderful digital SLR.

2 responses

  1. That is so sweet and made me want to cry! She is too precious for words but then again, all your children are! Can’t wait to see you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

