Food Waste Friday: I forgot fruit

Part of saving money, especially when it comes to groceries and food, is to not waste the food that you do buy.  If you work hard to save money and purchase good, wholesome food for your family, then why would you want to throw it in the trash each week?

Now I’m not clever enough to have come up with Food Waste Friday on my own.  I’m participating along with some other great ladies, including Kristen, a.k.a The Frugal Girl.  Why don’t you join us and see how much money you can save by actually eating all the food you buy?

Week 2.  We have just a few casualties.  Last week I bought more fruit than usual because I’ve found I’ve been rationing the fruit in our house and thought to myself “Self, this is ridiculous! Telling your kids to eat pretzels instead of fruit?  Let them eat fruit!”. 

So I bought probably close to double what I usually get, including a whole watermelon which my children have spent half the week devouring, and the result was some of the strawberries and peaches were ignored for a few days and I found them growing some mold half way through the week.  Some of the non-moldy strawberries were getting some soft/mushy spots, so I pulled those out, cut them up and made some strawberry smoothies

Here is the moldy parts of the peach.  Ick.

And the strawberries.  Double ick.

But that’s it for this week.  Woo hoo!

How about you?  How much food do you waste each week?  Join me in trying to create a food waste-free household!

P.S.  I have to explain the title of this post.  It’s a lot funnier if you’re Catholic and you know my adorable middle child.  One night when we were saying prayers at bedtime, Maddie said the “Angel of God” prayer by herself.  She finished, and as we told her good job, she stops and looks innocently at us with those big blue eyes and says “I fogot fwuit.”  Which translates to “I forgot fruit” for those who don’t speak two year old.  So Chad and I look at each other like “wha?”.  Then it dawns on us — she was confusing the Hail Mary and the Angel of God and thought she forgot to say the word “fruit” as in “Blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus.” 

Oh my dear Madeline.  Always the ham whether she means to or not.

One response

  1. I had some lemons get all squishy and slightly moldy (they were zested) this week. I also lost some leftovers, but compared to last week, this week was great.

    Good for you for using up the not-spoiled parts of the fruit!

    ~Elizabeth~
    *visiting from Food Waste Fridays*

Leave a Reply

