Menu Plan 6/4 to 6/16

Every Thursday I plan to share what our meal plan is for the upcoming week.  Meal planning is one of the easiest, most controllable things you can do for your family to save money and eat healthier.  

As always:

I typically shop on Thursday or Friday because that is when our local stores typically start their “special sales”.  That and I don’t like shopping on the weekends because a) the stores are more crowded and b) we’re usually pretty busy on the weekends and I hate taking time away from family time for grocery shopping. 

My meal plan goes from Saturday through Friday.  We typically eat out once a week, usually on Fridays, although we might change that up a bit to take advantage of kids eat cheap/free nights on the other days of the week.

For lunch the girls usually eat either tuna fish, hot dogs, peanut butter and jelly, grilled cheese, or quesadillas, along with fruit, mac & cheese, yogurt, or some other quick and easy sides.  Chad usually takes leftovers as his lunch to work.   I usually have leftovers if they need to be eaten up, or will eat whatever the girls are eating.

So here is what is on the agenda for us this week. I try to serve veggies with every meal, so I won’t repeat that for each day.

Saturday:  We’re having Carlie’s birthday party in the morning, so dinner will be easy.  I still have some chipotles in adobo to use up, as well as some pork butt in the freezer, so I’m thinking easy-peesy Spicy Dr. Pepper Shredded Pork for tacos from The Pioneer Woman that I’ve now made like eighteen hundred times because we LOVE it.

Sunday:  BBQ Meatloaf, Baked Potatoes

Monday:  Momma Hoff is coming to town, so I think we’ll let her sample the Beer Braised Beef (again from PW).  Probably with potatoes.

Tuesday through Saturday:  The girls and I will be in St. Louis visiting my family for the week.  But no robbers, you cannot come to my house and steal all my junk precious belongings.  Because Chad will still be home.  And he has guns.  And he is not afraid to use them.  And I have awesome neighbors that will totally shoot you call the police if you try to rob my house.  So don’t even think about it.

But since I’m gone next week I want to make sure I have a plan in place for when we get back so I’m not stressed about what to make or so we don’t resort to eating out too much.  I will have to make a quick run on Sunday or Monday for some fresh fruit and veggies, maybe some potatoes and milk.  And maybe bread.  (All of which I’ve included as part of my weekly spend).  However here is what I plan to make for the next week.

Sunday:  It’s Chad’s birthday!  So probably eat out wherever he wants, I’m guessing Oklahoma Joe’s or Jose Pepper’s.

Monday:  Sour Cream Pork Chops  These are actually a bump from like 2 weeks ago.  I can’t even remember what we ended up having instead of these that night.  Oh wait, yes I do, it was the Spicy Dr. Pepper Shredded Pork.  I bought a pork butt because it was on sale (and I didn’t know it until at the store).  And it was the half that belongs to the other half in my freezer that I’m using for this Saturday.  Whew, did you get all that?  I hope so, it was exhausting to explain.

Tuesday:  Grilled chicken.  Probably marinated.  Maybe teriyaki?  With some kind of pasta salad maybe.  Momma Cooks just posted a pasta salad recipe, I might try it out.  But with different veggies.  And no egg.

Wednesday:  Pancho’s Party Supper. I still need to get this recipe out to you all.  It’s Mexcian (big surprise) and super, duper easy.

Thursday:  Breakfast for Dinner or pizza.

Friday:  Probably eat out.

On the shopping list for this week: 

My goal is to spend under $100 each week on groceries.  I also want to track what percent of my budget I’m spending on what items.  Right now my major categories will be Fruit/Veggie, Meat, Dairy, and Other.  This week the totals are:

  • Fruit/Veggie 21%
  • Meat 2%
  • Dairy 22%
  • Other 55%

Again with my Other being so high.  Ugh. 

But it’s because I have to get a few microwave breakfast thingy’s for Chad.  I’m experimenting with some various breakfast items for him but given I’ll be in the Lou for a week we’re going with easy.  Anyhoo, those are expensive, like $3.50 for a box of two.  And I plan to get 3.  I usually only buy them on sale, and I’m hoping they are, but I don’t see them in the ad this week so I’m budgeting for a worst-case scenario.

Also I’m getting quite a few cans of tomatoes and beans for some various recipes.  Those are counted in Other.

And some pecans.  About a cup.   And you know how expensive pecans are.  These are for Carlie’s birthday cake.  The kid wants a Hummingbird Cake even though she’s never had one.  I’ve had it, since my awesome cook/baker of a mother-in-law has made one and it is delicious.  But Carlie has never had it.  Go figure how she decided she wanted a cake she’s never had.  Anyway, it’s cake with pineapple and bananas and pecans.  It will be delicious. 

And I’m getting some jars of baby food to take to STL with us as well. 

So those all add up pretty quick.

Because I have so much to get ready for with C’s birthday party and packing I’m only hitting Price Chopper this week. 

There are only two real things worthy of mentioning that are a really good sale this week that I would buy.  One is chicken breasts are on sale for $.99/lb.  I’ll get one package to make some Chicken Taco Soup for Chad to have while I’m gone.  I’d totally stock up at this price but I’m totally out of freezer room.  I really need to get an extra freezer.  But they are limiting to 4 packages a customer. 

The other is Crystal Farms cheese for $1.29.  I can’t see any limits on this, so I’m getting like 10.  Probably 3 pre-shredded and 7 bricks.  I need some cheese for the homemade mac & cheese for C’s party anyway, so that worked out nicely.

Anyway, I expect my total to be around $100.  Not bad given it’s really for 2 weeks of meals.  But I expect we’ll spend the $100 we’re “saving” on various things in St. Louis — snacks, eating out a time or two, one tank of gas, etc.

Okay, that was another long post.  I really need to find a way to make these meal planning posts more concise.  Maybe quit babbling?  That might help.

So what’s on your menu for the next week?

4 responses

  1. Several comments, actually….
    A) why’d you strikeout “shoot” in your reference about your awesome neighbors? Don’t u know everyone from Texas packs a gun?! 😉
    B) did you get your weekly grocery ads in the mail this week? I didn’t and i was really loking forward to what was on sale! Hmmmpfff!
    C) are the $.99 chicken breasts on sle at pc? If so i need to stock up!

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

