Sweet Caroline

Four years ago today our lives changed forever. 

Four years ago today we experienced joy we never knew existed. 

Four years ago today we welcomed our beautiful Caroline Celeste into the world.

I’ve mentioned some fond memories I have of Carlie from when she was little.  And I’m trying to absorb as much as I can about her now since she insists on growing up way too fast despite how much I tell her to quit doing that. 

So how do I describe four year old Carlie?  Hmmmm. 

Bossy.  Especially with her sisters.  Apple doesn’t fall far from the tree, I guess.  Ahem.

Messy.  She makes a bigger mess after a meal than her 2 1/2 year old sister.

Clumsy.  She trips over air.  Not kidding.

Smart as a whip.  Did I tell you she can read already?

Sensitive.  There are songs that make her cry.  Already.  Seriously.  I thought I had until at least 11.  Apparently not.

A good sharer.  Especially with food, which definitely doesn’t come from me.

Adores her sisters.  Maybe a little too much sometimes with the baby, but we love how much she loves her little sisters.

Polite.  She knows her “pleases” and “thank you’s” and uses them without being reminded.  Most of the time.

Beautiful.  But you can see that here for yourself. 

Is it wrong to be jealous of a 4 year old’s hair?

What I love most about her is her big heart.  She definitely gets that from her dad.  I’ve always said that I wish I had just a fraction of Chad’s big heart and kindness towards others.  So while I joke that Carlie is my “mini-me” I know she’s actually a better version of me.  She’s the fusion of Chad and myself that I always wanted.

I thank God every day for giving me this precious gift and answering my prayers in every way.

Happy Birthday my sweet Caroline.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: My little Madeline | Living the Dream

Leave a Reply

