Homemade: Enchilada Sauce

I mentioned last week how I make homemade “oven fries” rather than buy packaged frozen french fries from the store.  And you all know about my quest to reduce the artificial ingredients that my family consumes. 

Well one item that keeps appearing in my grocery list that still contains ingredients I don’t love is enchilada sauce.  And given how much my family eat Mexican-style food this was one I wanted to tackle soon.

But I admit, this one daunted me a little.  Okay, a LOT.  I honestly didn’t know where to begin.  But as with all things homemade, you won’t know if you can do it unless you try.  So I checked out my favorite recipe website Allrecipes.com, searched on enchilada sauce, and looked at the top rated recipes and read some of the reviews.

And found this one

But you know me.  I can’t just make a recipe as it’s stated.  I have to tailor it to my own tastes.

How did it turn out?  Excellent.  Because I am a master chef who makes all things excellent the first time around.  Usually.  Okay, never.  Until now. 

Now when you first make it and you taste it, you might think its a bit too spicy straight from the pan.  But know that the spiciness was definitely cut quite a bit when I added it into my chicken and rice enchilada casserole.  So if yours tastes a bit spicy by itself, it probably won’t be quite so bad when you add it to your dish.

So without further ado, here is how I made my homemade enchilada sauce.  This turns out about 3 cups of sauce.

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup chili powder
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 16 oz tomato sauce
  • 1/4 tsp each of garlic powder, onion powder and cumin
 

Directions

  1. Heat the oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Stir in the flour and cook for 1 minute, then add the chili powder and cook for 1 more minute. It will be clumpy.  Gradually stir in the chicken broth, mixing well with a whisk to make sure you get out all the lumps.  Then stir in the tomato sauce and season with garlic powder, onion powder and cumin.
  2. Reduce heat to low and simmer for 10 to 15 minutes. (Note: If sauce thickens too much, just add a little water to thin it out a bit.)
4 responses

  1. Pingback: Recipe Saturday: Aunt Bonnie’s Creamy Beef Enchiladas | Living the Dream

  2. Pingback: Midwest Mexican Recipe: Chicken Enchilada Pasta | Living the Dream

  3. Pingback: Midwest Mexican Recipe: Slow Cooker Chicken Enchilada Chili | Living the Dream

Leave a Reply

