Oh how I love to read a good book (or three)

I love reading.  Always have.  I’ve had my nose in a book since I first learned to read.

Now lately I don’t get to read as much as I used to.  Gee, not quite sure why.  Certainly my three little monsters munchkins don’t have anything to do with it.

Nah.  How could anyone ignore these angels?

However I am in a book club which I love, not only because of the great women I get to spend time with, but because it forces me to read when I might otherwise brush it off for other things. 

Yep, I’m in a book club that actually read books.  I know, we’re a rare breed.  Not many exist anymore. 

Now in all fairness I have to say we meet every month but only discuss a book every other month.  Most of the women have kids and most work full-time as well.  So one book every other month works well for us.

We’ve read so many amazing books.  In fact, at our last meeting we reminisced about all the books we’ve read as part of a questionaire we filled out for an article being written about our book club.  The Help.  Desperate Housewives Eating Bon Bons.  The Glass Castle.  The English American.  And most recently, The Hunger Games.

Never have I devoured a series so quickly.  I didn’t even get through The Twilight Saga as fast.  (Yes, apparently I have a love for young adult series novels.)  And I read all four of those books in about 2 weeks.  I’d read while I was nursing Maddie when she was a newborn.  Hour long nursing sessions at 3 a.m. were much more tolerable with Bella, Edward and Jacob to keep me company.  Except then I’d hear a noise outside and was convinced a vampire trying to get in and kill me.  Note to self: don’t read vampire books at 3 a.m.

I read The Hunger Games in about 3 days.  Catching Fire in 1 (seriously, it was less than 24 hours).  And Mockingjay in about 2.  And it would have been 1 except that I got caught up in the Joplin, MO tornado disaster coverage.

As I’m sure you can guess many things get ignored when I get wrapped up in a new book.  Kids.  Dishes.  Cleaning.  Laundry.  Chad. 

Then I feel bad and take a break from reading for a while.  Then I find another new good book and the cycle happens all over again.

I can’t help myself.  I love escaping into the worlds of the characters in the books I read.  I love feeling what they’re feeling, seeing what they’re seeing, living what they’re living.  I get to have their adventures yet still live my own wonderful, normal life.

So tell me readers, what do you love to read?  I’m always taking book recommendations as well.  Feel free to leave them in the comments section.

2 responses

  1. Leann,
    I really like catching up on your blog! Now that Wynne is living her entrepreneurial dream, I’m now managing food and cooking. I’m always on the hunt for ideas on how to save some money at the grocery store and good recipes!
    Additionally, the Hunger Games rocks! My now 12 year old and I read the series together. It was a great opportunity for our own little book club. This was also something my 9 year old became interested in (finally, something other than diaries of a whimpy kid that he’s interested in!)
    Take care,
    Greg

  2. Pingback: Miscellaneous Monday: YA Sci-Fi, Lizzie in jail, Fantasy Football and Who’s the Boss? | Living the Dream

Leave a Reply

