Menu Plan 5/28 to 6/3

Every Thursday I plan to share what our meal plan is for the upcoming week.  Meal planning is one of the easiest, most controllable things you can do for your family to save money and eat healthier.  

As always:

I typically shop on Thursday or Friday because that is when our local stores typically start their “special sales”.  That and I don’t like shopping on the weekends because a) the stores are more crowded and b) we’re usually pretty busy on the weekends and I hate taking time away from family time for grocery shopping. 

My meal plan goes from Saturday through Friday.  We typically eat out once a week, usually on Fridays, although we might change that up a bit to take advantage of kids eat cheap/free nights on the other days of the week.

For lunch the girls usually eat either tuna fish, hot dogs, peanut butter and jelly, grilled cheese, or quesadillas, along with fruit, organic mac & cheese, yogurt, or some other quick and easy sides.  Chad usually takes leftovers as his lunch to work.   I usually have leftovers if they need to be eaten up, or will eat whatever the girls are eating.

So here is what is on the agenda for us this week. I try to serve veggies with every meal, so I won’t repeat that for each day.

Saturday:  We took advantage of half-priced Papa Murphy’s today to get a pizza for Saturday night.

Sunday:  BBQ at the neighbor’s

Monday:  Brats, Homemade Mac & Cheese (new recipe!)

Tuesday:  Taco Pasta Bowls.  To use up some of the homemade enchilada sauce I made this week.

Wednesday:  Carlie’s Birthday!  She wants hamburger and oven fries and sugar snap peas.  What the princess wants, the princess gets.

Thursday:  Breakfast for Dinner

Friday:  Probably eat out

On the shopping list for this week: 

My goal is to spend under $100 each week on groceries.  I also want to track what percent of my budget I’m spending on what items.  Right now my major categories will be Fruit/Veggie, Meat, Dairy, and Other.  This week the totals are:

  • Fruit/Veggie 21%
  • Meat 13%
  • Dairy 17%
  • Other 49%

I’m a bit embarrassed by those percents.  I hate that the fruit/veggie catagory is so low.  But it’s because the “other” is so high.  And I have good explanations for that.  Really.

First, this will be an expensive week.  Like $150-ish.  But last week I spent under $50 so I’m just eating up that overage. 

I hit Costco this week for 3 gallons of milk, pesto, mixed nuts (a snack for Chad at work), and…Nutella. 

Hi, my name is LeeAnn and I’m a Nutella-aholic.

I officially have a problem. I’m buying the 2 pack of jumbo-sized jar like every time I go.  Which is about once every two weeks.  You do the math.  That’s a lot of Nutella.  *Sigh.*

So Costco set me back about $40.  And over $30 of it was “Other”.  And that’s 20% of my almost 50% “Other”.  Did you follow all that?

Anywho, I’m hitting Hy-Vee and Price Chopper this week.  With all 3 kids.  Could get interesting. 

At Hy-Vee we’ll be getting strawberries, watermelon, canteloupe, baby carrots, sugar snap peas, and kale (I hope to make these kale chips everyone keeps raving about).  Also they have a “buy 10 of these items get $5 off” sale, so I plan to get 1 box Ritz (for my dip to bring to the BBQ Sunday, which I’ll have to share sometime because it. is. awesome.), 1 jar peanuts (for Chad for work), and 8 bricks of cheese.  It makes each of these items $1.49.  They also have Wonder buns on sale for $.88 and we’re having hot dogs for Carlie’s party next weekend, so I’m stocking up now.  Oh, and Oscar Meyer hot dogs (the only less-expensive brand that carries a nitrate/nitrite free hot dog) are on sale for $.99.  And even though I don’t really coupon, I do have two $1 off coupons for these hot dogs.  So we’re stocking up there too.

At Price Chopper we’ll be getting bananas, peaches (on sale for $.88/lb, I’m sure they won’t be the best but we’ll get a few), apples, red grapes, corn ($.25/ear) and broccoli ($1.50 each).  Also ground beef (80% lean) is on sale for $1.88/lb.  I usually like it leaner but 80% is great for burgers.  Which C wants for her birthday.  So that works out well.  Also Triscuits are on sale for $2 so I’ll get a few boxes of those too.

I also need to pick up a few things like dish soap, shower spray, and some mailing envelopes.  I normally hate to get that stuff at the grocery store because usually it’s more expensive, but if I go to Wal-Mart or Target I will buy four times as many things as that.  So the few pennies I save on those items is spent and then some on the other crap I probably didn’t even need.

Okay, that was a long post.  Sorry about that.

So what’s on your menu for the next week?

One response

Leave a Reply

