Recipe Saturday: Sweet and Sour Chicken

I made this for the first time ever this past week and I LOVED it.  Chad and the kids liked it too (although as usual Chad complained about eating too many vegetables), and it was great as leftovers as well. 

I got the original recipe from Allrecipes, but I modified it a bit and love the way it turned out. 

Sweet and Sour Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breast meat – cubed
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 package frozen stir fry mixed vegetables
  • 1 (20 ounce) can pineapple tidbits in natural juice, juice reserved
  • 1/4 cup low sodium soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch

Directions:

Heat oil in saute pan over medium high heat.  Add chicken, brown on all sides.  Add frozen vegetables, cover and simmer until heated through.  In the meantime drain pineapple juice into a bowl, add soy sauce, vinegar, brown sugar, ginger, garlic and cornstarch and whisk together.  Then add to chicken and veggies along with the pineapple tidbits.  Bring to a boil then simmer about 5 minutes or until thick.  Serve over brown rice.

I keep a container of minced garlic in my fridge at all times.  I also keep a piece of ginger in a plastic baggie in my freezer.  Then when I need fresh ginger I get it out and grate some on a microplane.  I highly recommend using fresh for each of these (not powder), you won’t be sorry.  In fact, next time I might add more ginger.  I love fresh ginger.  Yum.

You can also make this using leftover chicken, which is actually what I did.  I made a roast chicken on Monday and used the leftovers for this on Wednesday.   I just heated a tad bit of oil, threw in the veggies and steamed/stir-fried them, then added the chicken, pineapple and sauce. It turned out perfect.

You can also make this using fresh veggies.  Cut some carrots, peppers, onions, broccoli, water chestnuts, snap peas and/or green beans into strips and saute after browning the chicken.  Then add sauce and pineapple and voila!

Enjoy!

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Menu Plan 6/17 to 6/24 | Living the Dream

Leave a Reply

