Homemade: Oven fries

I was having a conversation with someone the other day and I mentioned how I made “oven fries” with our meal rather than buying pre-made fries from the store.  This person was surprised and said she hadn’t thought to do that herself. 

So it dawned on me that there might be a lot of things I make from scratch that others may not think to.  I’ll cover “oven fries” today but will get to some others later.

Maybe you already do this yourself.  If so, yeah!  Then share with me how you make yours, I’d love to try new versions.

Years ago, when it was just Chad and I, if we had fries I was buying the frozen pre-formed fries from the store.  They were good, sure.  But each bag costs between $2 and $3 and we’d get maybe 3 meals from them.  With 3 kids (although only 2 who eat food) the bag only gets us maybe two meals.  And for most families I’m sure it’s just one.

And have you looked at the ingredients in those fries?  Think it’s just potatoes?  Think again.  I checked out a bag at the store the other day.  I can’t remember all the ingredients, but in my opinion the list was too long for something as simple as a fry.

I’m not saying the other ingredients are bad for you.   I honestly don’t know.  I just know that if you think a frozen french fry is just a frozen piece of potato, I’m telling you it’s not that simple. 

You can get a 5 pound bag of potatoes from the store for around $2 to $3.  Sometimes you can get a ten pound bag for that much.  A 5 pound bag will provide a side dish for around 5 meals at our house.  Usually about 1 medium potato per person seems to be the right amount, assuming you don’t want leftovers.

To make the oven fries I just slice the potatoes lengthwise into fairly even strips.  We like ours “steak fry” style.  Then I coat lightly but thoroughly with EVOO, sprinkle some kosher salt and sometimes some garlic powder and/or Italian seasoning. 

Place in a single layer on a cookie sheet.  Use multiple sheets if need be.  Do not stack the potatoes or they will steam instead of bake up crisp.

Bake in the oven at 425 degrees for 15 to 20 minutes.  Flip potatoes over, then bake for another 10 to 15 minutes until golden brown.

Are you going to get fries like you would from a fast food chain?  No.  But do you get a healthier, cheaper, and dare I say it, better version of a french fry? 

Well I guess you’ll have to try it for yourself.

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Homemade: Enchilada Sauce | Living the Dream

  2. Pingback: Food Waste Friday: More kitchen cleanout waste and potatoes | Living the Dream

  3. Pingback: Menu Plan: I’m off a bit « Living the Dream

Leave a Reply

