Menu Plan 5/21 to 5/27

Every Thursday I plan to share what our meal plan is for the upcoming week.  Meal planning is one of the easiest, most controllable things you can do for your family to save money and eat healthier.  

As always:

I typically shop on Thursday or Friday because that is when our local stores typically start their “special sales”.  That and I don’t like shopping on the weekends because a) the stores are more crowded and b) we’re usually pretty busy on the weekends and I hate taking time away from family time for grocery shopping. 

My meal plan goes from Saturday through Friday.  We typically eat out once a week, usually on Fridays, although we might change that up a bit to take advantage of kids eat cheap/free nights on the other days of the week.

For lunch the girls usually eat either tuna fish, hot dogs, peanut butter and jelly, grilled cheese, or quesadillas, along with fruit, organic mac & cheese, yogurt, or some other quick and easy sides.  Chad usually takes leftovers as his lunch to work.   I usually have leftovers if they need to be eaten up, or will eat whatever the girls are eating.

So here is what is on the agenda for us this week. I try to serve veggies with every meal, so I won’t repeat that for each day.

Saturday:  Mothers of Young Children year end pinic.  So no cooking.   Yeah!

Sunday:  Oven Baked Chicken, Mashed Potatoes

Monday:  Sour Cream Pork Chops, Noodles

Tuesday:  Chicken and Rice Enchilada bake.  I’m making this one up.  And making my own enchilada sauce.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

Wednesday:  Breakfast for Dinner

Thursday:  Chicken Nachos 

Friday:  Probably eat out

On the shopping list for this week: 

My goal is to spend under $100 each week on groceries.  And this week I’m adding something new.  I want to track what percent of my budget I’m spending on what items.  Right now my major categories will be Fruit/Veggie, Meat, Dairy, and Other.  This week the totals are:

  • Fruit/Veggie 56%
  • Meat 8%
  • Dairy 16%
  • Other 19%

For the first time in a while I’m not making multiple trips this week.  It’s Price Chopper and that’s it.  They have a berry sale going on, so I plan to get 2 lbs of strawberries and ~1 lb of blueberries for $2.98 each.  Then of course we need bananas and apples.  Squash/zucchini is $.89/lb, and I need a bag of baby carrots and will spend about another $3 on another veggie.  Oh, and I need a tomato and an onion.

Split chicken breasts are on sale for $.88/lb.  I’ll get 2 packages (hopefully about 4 lbs) and will cook it in the crock pot to get some chicken for the Chicken and Rice Enchilada bake and the Chicken Nachos.

We also need some eggs, a brick of cheddar cheese, sour cream and I think I’ll need a gallon of milk to get us to next Thursday.  I’m also breaking down and buying a can of biscuits.  I just can’t make them like Pillsbury and we’ve been missing them from our breakfast with dinner nights.  🙂

Allen frozen veggies are on sale too, I’ll buy a few bags to stock up for weeks when the fresh produce doesn’t look good or we run out before the end of the week.

Finally I need some chili beans and chili powder, also for the Chicken and Rice Enchilada bake.

So that makes this week’s total just under $50.  I’m really excited about this since I ended up overspending last week when I bought a pork butt (he he, I just said butt) that was on sale to make The Pioneer Woman’s Spicy Dr. Pepper Shredded Pork

Again. 

Because it is my new favorite taco filling.

So what’s on your menu for the next week?

5 responses

  1. I can’t wait to try the Spicy Dr Pepper Shredded Pork! We’ve gotten pretty good at pork butt on the Traeger, but I love Dr Pepper so can’t wait to try this one.

    I’m also curious how the homemade enchilada sauce works… I use it a lot for the obvious reason but also in soups and casseroles.

  2. Don’t tell Mike you can spend under $100 a week for groceries! I’ve told him I can’t do it for under $200. 🙂

    I occasionally use Robin Miller’s cookbook. It’s based on cooking a large portion of meat for one meal, then using the leftovers of that meat in subsequent meals.

    Good luck with the enchilada sauce!

    • I won’t tell Mike, I promise. I’m looking forward to days when I can spend as much as I want and not worry. 😉

      I like Robin Miller a lot, I used to watch her on Food Network. I love the idea of cooking meat once and reusing later, and I try to do it myself a lot. Saves time and money!

  3. Pingback: Menu Plan 5/28 to 6/3 | Living the Dream

Leave a Reply

