Menu Plan 5/14 to 5/20

Every Thursday I plan to share what our meal plan is for the upcoming week.  Meal planning is one of the easiest, most controllable things you can do for your family to save money and eat healthier.  

As always:

I typically shop on Thursday or Friday because that is when our local stores typically start their “special sales”.  That and I don’t like shopping on the weekends because a) the stores are more crowded and b) we’re usually pretty busy on the weekends and I hate taking time away from family time for grocery shopping. My meal plan goes from Saturday through Friday.  We typically eat out once a week, usually on Fridays, although we might change that up a bit to take advantage of kids eat cheap/free nights on the other days of the week.

For lunch the girls usually eat either tuna fish, hot dogs, peanut butter and jelly, grilled cheese, or quesadillas, along with fruit, organic mac & cheese, yogurt, or some other quick and easy sides.  Chad usually takes leftovers as his lunch to work.   I usually have leftovers if they need to be eaten up, or will eat whatever the girls are eating.

So here is what is on the agenda for us this week. I try to serve veggies with every meal, so I won’t repeat that for each day.

Saturday:  Taco Quiche from MommaCooks

Sunday:  Cheesy Shell Lasagna, Homemade bread

Monday:  Roast Chicken, Potatoes

Tuesday:  Sweet & Sour Chicken, Brown Rice.  This is new, I’ll let you know if it’s any good.

Wednesday:  Chicken tacos using leftover meat from Monday.

Thursday:  Either homemade pizza or breakfast for dinner. 

Friday:  Probably eat out

On the shopping list for this week: 

My goal is to spend under $100 each week on groceries. 

I ended up going to Costco already this week and spent about $35 there.  I got milk, some spices I was low on (have you checked out Costco’s spices?  Many are organic and very, very cheap!) and Nutella.  I probably wouldn’t have gone this week except Chad wanted the Nutella.  For real.  He’s becoming as addicted as I am.

Anywho, I also ran to Hen House already since I was out, and they had 1 lb of strawberries, 6 oz blackberries and 8 oz blueberries each for $1.50.  So I grabbed 2 strawberries and 2 blueberries.  I also grabbed a 1/2 gallon of whole milk and a plain yogurt so I could make some homemade yogurt.  I’ve been taking pictures of the process, I’ll post about it soon.  I spent about $13 there.

I still have to go to Price Chopper and expect to spend about $50 there.  They have pineapples on sale for $1.99 each, plus cantaloupe for $1.49.  Fryer chickens are $.79/lb, hence the plan to make roast chicken on Monday.  Also they have shredded cheese on sale for $1.29 and as far as I can tell it’s no limit.  I like to shred my own cheese if the cheese will be consumed say, in a taco, but if it’s melted/layered in a casserole I get the shredded.  I don’t love the extra ingredients to keep it from caking, but I’m not going to sweat it.  Anyway, I plan to get about 10 of these.  Despite the fact that I don’t totally crave cheese anymore it still feels like 6 days of the week our meal involves cheese somehow.  And then I just need some odds and ends (can of beans, tomatoes, chilis, oatmeal, eggs, mustard, etc.).

So that makes this week’s total just under $100.  Not too shabby!

So what’s on your menu for the next week?

2 responses

    • Thanks Sandra! It’s not easy, and often I’m tempted to go over (and sometimes I do), but I know that we have to stay on budget. I hope you love the quiche!

Leave a Reply

