Summertime smoothies

Saturday was one of our first really nice, dare I even say HOT days we’ve had so far here in Kansas City.  For lunch we grilled out hot dogs, attempted homemade potato chips (not bad, but definitely needing some improvements before sharing), and devoured fresh cantaloupe and strawberries.

My girls were complaining that they “never get anything special” (which is a load of you-know-what, as I’m sure you guessed), so I suggested we make strawberry smoothies.

Needless to say that suggestion went over very well.

I don’t make smoothies often.  But I stocked up on organic strawberries a few weeks ago when Whole Foods had them for $1.99 a pound.  And by stocked up I mean I bought 6 containers.  And froze all the strawberries.  Now everytime I open the freezer door I get hit with either a bag of frozen strawberries or frozen baby food.

I need a bigger freezer.

And I had some Stoneyfield strawberry yogurt in the fridge needing to be used up.

So I dumped the 6 oz container of yogurt in the blender.  Then I added about 1 to 2 cups slightly thawed frozen strawberries.  (Can you say “slightly thawed frozen”?  Or is that a contradiction in terms?) 

I hit blend.

Magic.

Taste test.  Hmm, a bit on the sour side, and definitely too thin.  So I added about 1 tablespoon of sugar and about 1/2 cup of ice.

Blend again.

Taste test again.

Perfection. 

If I do say so myself.

What do you think?

Looks refreshing, doesn’t it?

Is your mouth watering?  Mine is.

Maddie liked it.

Carlie liked it.

Ladies and Gentlemen, I think we have a winner.

One response

  1. Pingback: Food Waste Friday: I forgot the fruit | Living the Dream

Leave a Reply

