Recipe Saturday: Taco Pasta Bowls

As I’ve mentioned, our family tends to eat a lot of Mexican (well, American-Mexican, not true Mexican) food.  This is a favorite that incorporates noodles too, which both our kids love.

And this recipe is so. super. easy you just can’t go wrong.  It’s fast, simple, and good.  I like the red pepper in it because red peppers are so good for you, it’s my way to sneak it in to my kids dinner. 

And you can adjust it to your own family’s tastes.  Don’t like onion or pepper?  Leave them out (I leave out the onion a lot, we’re just not onion people).  Don’t like spicy?  Use mild chili beans, plain tomatoes without chilis, cut back on the chili powder.

In all fairness I got the idea for this recipe from the KC Star quite a few years ago.  But I did make adjustments to fit our family’s taste, so I call it my own.  Heck, aren’t all of our Mexican recipes really just variations of each other? 

Also I need to find a recipe for homemade enchilada sauce.  Or check out the cans at Whole Foods.  The ones I find at our regular store have yucky stuff in them (not colorings but weird ingredients I can’t pronounce, and y’all know how I don’t like that).

Anyway, this is a great recipe, I hope you enjoy it!

Taco Pasta Bowls

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1 TBSP oil
  • 1 can chili beans, undrained
  • 1 can tomatoes with green chilis
  • 1 can enchilada sauce
  • 1 TBSP chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • cooked pasta (about 1/2 of a 16 oz box)
  • cheese, sour cream, and chips for garnish

Directions:

Heat oil in large skillet over medium high heat, add pepper and onion and stir until slightly translucent.  Add ground beef and cook until done.  Stir in chili beans, tomatoes and enchilada sauce.  Add chili powder and cumin, combine well.  Simmer for 5-10  minutes until heated through.  Serve over pasta, sprinkle with cheese, sour cream and serve with chips.

Enjoy!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

