Because sometimes I want something other than PB&J

I love peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.  I grew up eating them pretty much every day.  And my girls enjoy them too, although I don’t feed them PB&J quite every day.  And some days when they have one for lunch I’ll join in the fun and make one for myself.

Mmmm, looks good, doesn’t it.

But some days I want a lunch just a little more grown up.

One thing I love about being a stay at home mom is creating my own lunches.  When I worked in corporate I was pretty much a leftovers or, more typically, microwave meal kinda gal.  I got really tired of those by the time I quit.  In fact, by the end I was coming home at noon over lunch hour everyday to make my own lunch.

That’s probably because I was pregnant with Lizzie and the smell of microwave food over lunchtime was making me sick.  That and I was tired and needed a quick nap.

Living close to your work has its advantages.

Anyway, the other day I had one of those times where I just didn’t want PB&J.  So I checked out what I had in the fridge.

Leftover shredded chicken and fresh cut corn off the cob from chicken taco salads.  Fresh asparagus.  Hmmmmm.

I checked the cabinet.  Brand new bag of organic quinoa  just begging to be opened.

Bingo!  Quinoa salad.

I cooked the quinoa, it only took about 20 minutes.  In the meantime I washed and cut up the asparagus, cut it into pieces and microwave steamed it for about 3 minutes. 

Then I whipped up some dressing.  A few tablespoons of balsamic vinegar, a few tablespoons of EVOO, a teaspoon or so of spicy brown mustard, a few shakes of basil and oregano, a pinch of kosher salt and some ground pepper whisked together.

When the quinoa was done I added the dressing and combined well.  Then I dumped in the drained asparagus, the corn and chicken and mixed it all together.

Voila!

Grown up lunch, just for me. 

Quit drooling.  It’s mine. 

And while the girls will eat quinoa, it’s not their favorite, so I don’t have to deal with them trying to eat all my food.  I hate when they want to eat my food.  I don’t try to eat theirs and I don’t want them to eat mine.  I’m very protective of my food.

If you work, what do you typically eat for lunch?  If you stay home, do you eat the same as your kids or make your own “grown-up” lunch?

4 responses

  1. I refuse to eat PB&J every day. I love making paninis! Nothing beats a hot sandwich.

    And, I hate feeding the kids off my plate. I never get to eat my own food.

  2. Pingback: Menu Plan 5/7 to 5/13 « Living the Dream

Leave a Reply

