Saturday Recipe: Overnight Cinnamon Rolls

Well this week I’m cheating just a bit.  Since I plan to make these this weekend for Easter I thought I’d share this amazing recipe with you. 

If you think cinnamon rolls you buy in the store are good, well you’re wrong.  Just wrong. 

I’m sorry, I don’t mean to be harsh with you.  You just need to know that these will blow store-bought out. of. the. water.  I promise.  I wouldn’t let you down now, would I?

Now I can’t claim this for my own.  I got this recipe from Kristen at The Frugal Girl.  She’s an amazing baker and blogger and took waaayyyyy better pictures of the rolls than I ever would.  Oh, and she’s my inspiration for all the baking I’ve been doing for my family.

I have another great recipe for cinnamon rolls that I love, but they take 90 minutes to make.  I don’t know about you, but if I wake up in the morning and want cinnamon rolls, the last thing I want to do is take an hour and a half to make them.  To quote my 2 year old “I want them NOW!”

Hence my excitement when I found The Frugal Girl’s Overnight Cinnamon Rolls.  Make the night before, sit out for just a bit in the morning, bake, and enjoy!  And let me tell you, you will enjoy these.  They are to. die. for. 

I’ll provide the recipe below, but please do click on the Overnight Cinnamon Rolls link to see all the great pictures.  Especially if this is your first time making them homemade.  Oh, and don’t be afraid of kneading dough.  I was terrified when I first started, but I promise, you’ll do just fine.  I believe in you.

Overnight Cinnamon rolls 

Dough:

1 ¼ cups milk

¼ cup butter

1 teaspoon salt

¼ cup sugar

1 egg

1 tablespoon active dry yeast

3.5 to 4 cups flour

Filling

¼ cup softened butter

1 cup packed brown sugar

2 teaspoons cinnamon 

 

Frosting

¼ cup butter, softened

4 ounces cream cheese, softened (don’t try to use cold cream cheese!)

1 ½ cups confectioners sugar

1 ½ teaspoons milk

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

To make dough, heat milk, butter, salt, and sugar to 120 degrees F. Combine 2 cups of the flour and the yeast in the bowl of a stand mixer. Add warm liquids and egg and beat for 3 minutes. Add enough of the remaining flour to make a soft dough.

Turn out onto a floured surface and knead 3-5 minutes, or until smooth and elastic. Place dough in bowl, cover, and let rest for 20 minutes.

Place dough on a floured surface and roll to a 17×10 inch rectangle. Spread with ¼ cup softened butter. Combine brown sugar and cinnamon and sprinkle evenly over dough. Starting from a long end, roll the dough up jelly roll style. Cut into 21 slices, and place cut side down into greased pans, 9 into an 8×8 inch pan and 12 in a 9×13 inch pan. Cover and place in refrigerator overnight.

In the morning, remove lids and replace them loosely. Let the pans stand at room temperature 30-40 minutes, or until the rolls are soft to the touch. Bake in a preheated 350 degree F oven for 20-25 minutes, or until lightly browned.

To make frosting, beat all the ingredients together in a bowl (a mixer makes this much easier). Spread over top of warm rolls.

8 responses

  1. I’m so glad you liked them! Yay!

    And don’t feel afraid to post your own pictures…the way to get better at photography is to practice, and I always say that an imperfect picture is better than no picture.

    So, shoot away!

    • Thanks Kristen! It was more about not having enough time rather than not wanting to post pics. Maybe I’ll take some as I make them today for our Easter breakfast and post them as a P.S. 🙂 Thanks for being an inspiration! And Happy Easter!

  2. Pingback: Saturday Recipe: Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting « Living the Dream

Leave a Reply

