Menu Plan 4/23 to 4/29

Every Thursday I plan to share what our meal plan is for the upcoming week.  Meal planning is one of the easiest, most controllable things you can do for your family to save money and eat healthier.  

As always:

I typically shop on Thursday or Friday because that is when our local stores typically start their “special sales”.  That and I don’t like shopping on the weekends because a) the stores are more crowded and b) we’re usually pretty busy on the weekends and I hate taking time away from family time for grocery shopping. My meal plan goes from Saturday through Friday.  We typically eat out once a week, usually on Fridays, although we might change that up a bit to take advantage of kids eat cheap/free nights on the other days of the week.

For lunch the girls usually eat either tuna fish, hot dogs, peanut butter and jelly, grilled cheese, or quesadillas, along with fruit, organic mac & cheese, yogurt, or some other quick and easy sides.  Chad usually takes leftovers as his lunch to work.   I usually have leftovers if they need to be eaten up, or will eat whatever the girls are eating.

So here is what is on the agenda for us this week. I try to serve veggies with every meal, so I won’t repeat that for each day.

Saturday: Beer-braised beef from The Pioneer Woman.  Never had this before, but it looks yummy.  And I have some roast in the freezer that was on sale last week.  Will probably have with potatoes and of course a veggie.

Sunday:  We’re having Easter at my in-laws for lunch, so for dinner I’m keeping it simple: Pancho’s Party Supper.  I know, what the heck is that?  I’ll share it sometime.  It’s a Tex-Mex style dish with ground beef, beans and tomato sauce.  And cheese.  Oooh, the cheese I will smoother this in.  Because Sunday is Easter and I can have cheese again.  Yippee!

Monday:  Chicken Stroganoff in the crock pot.  I have something all day Monday and Tuesday and wanted something ready when I get home because I will NOT feel like cooking.  This does call for a can of cream of chicken, and I’m trying to quit using that stuff.  If anyone has any suggestions for a substitute let me know.  I just really need a crock pot recipe for chicken and I fell back on this one.

Tuesday:  Taco Soup.  Again, gone all day, crock pot, won’t want to cook.  Oh, and I have a meeting at church at 5:45.  It’s going to be a long week.  Sigh.  But this one does not call for any cream of whatever.  It does however call for a can of beer.  Mmmmm, beer.  Notice how many of my recipes call for beer or wine?  And that I have three kids under age four?  Coincidence?

Wednesday:  Spinach mushroom quiche.  With feta.  Yum, feta.  Did I mention I get to eat cheese again?

Thursday:  Pizza.  I have a lot of mozzarella sitting in my fridge needing to be used up.  And giving up cheese for Lent means I haven’t had pizza in almost 6 weeks.  Yikes!

Friday:  Definitely out, and most likely Jose Peppers.  Again, notice a theme?  Cheese and Mexican.  And margaritas.  Woo hoo!

On the shopping list for this week: 

My goal is to spend under $100 each week on groceries. 

This week I will break that and then some.  However I have underspent the past three weeks so for the month I’m still pretty on track.  Plus I’m buying a few things for the carrot cake I’m making for Easter and for some potatoes I’m making for a local homeless men’s shelter to be served on Easter Sunday. 

I dropped into Whole Foods on Wednesday where I spent $15 for yogurt, organic butter, and organic almond milk.

I also went to Costco and stocked up on some things.  Three gallons of milk, Craisins, EVOO, organic tortilla chips, quinoa, pure lemon juice and cinnamon.  I’ll have to share my findings on those last three some other time.  The more I shop at Costco the more I love it!  Anyway, those items set me back a good $60.  But I shouldn’t need to go again for a few more weeks, if not longer.

I hope to drop by Hy-Vee on Thursday to get some bananas (on sale $.38/lb), pineapple ($1.99 each), nitrite-free hot dogs ($1.67 each), butter ($1.99/lb) and a few other miscellaneous items that are usually cheaper at Hy-Vee than Price Chopper.  Will probably spend around $20 here.

Finally at PC I plan to get some strawberries on sale for $2.68, Triscuits on sale for $1.68 (we eat these with cheese — mmmm, cheese!), and a lot of other stuff.  Some is on sale (not great sale, but on sale) and some is not, but I need most of it for the week — cream cheese, cheddar cheese, feta cheese (again with the cheese theme!), sour cream, eggs, sugar, powdered sugar, flour, canned pineapple, coconut, etc. 

Oh, and carrots for the carrot cake.  Man I love carrot cake.  PC will probably get about $60 of my money.

So tell me, what’s on your menu for the next week?

6 responses

  1. Has anyone told you that you should be a paid comedian you crack me up. You are such an awesome wife and mom….. I enjoy reading your posts!

  2. i don’t often cook with cream of anything, but when i have had to use it, there is an organic brand of cream of chicken that comes in a box and is on the low shelf at target underneath all the crap cream of blah blah cans. I can’t quite remember what the brand is (Amy’s, maybe?), but i am sure other stores have something similar. Now, it is a bit more expensive than store brands and Campbell’s but since I don’t need it that often, i don’t mind paying for it since I can feel good about eating it! Just food for thought! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Are you part of the food revolution? « Living the Dream

  4. Pingback: Menu Plan 4/30 to 5/6 « Living the Dream

Leave a Reply

