I *heart* roasted cauliflower. Yes, you read that right.

If you are actually reading this post, I must say I’m very impressed.  I figured with a title with the words “roasted cauliflower” in it absolutely no one would actually bother to come read.  So thank you!

I don’t know what possessed me to want to write about roasted cauliflower (Chad wonders the same thing), but I made some the other night and as I was devouring the yummy crunchy salty nutty goodness that is that beautiful flowery white vegetable and I thought to myself  “Self, I bet there are a ton of people out there who just don’t understand how amazingly awesome roasted cauliflower is!”. 

Am I right or am I right? Or am I right? Am I right?  Recognize that quote?  Name that movie.  I’ll give you a second.  {Insert Jeopardy music here.}  If you guessed Groundhogs Day, congrats, you are correct!

Plus I said I would in my weekly menu plan post a few weeks ago.

Have you ever had roasted cauliflower?  Wait, let me guess.  Ewwwww, who would want to eat cauliflower?  Isn’t that the white vegetable that never gets eaten on the vegetable tray at parties?  Yes, that is exactly that same vegetable. 

I’m telling you, cauliflower might be one of the most underrated veggies out there.  According to Wikipedia (don’t you just love Wikipedia?), cauliflower is low in fat, high in dietary fiber, folate, water, and vitamin C,  and possesses a high nutritional density.  It also contains many phytochemicals that are beneficial to human health and may protect against cancer.  What a great food, huh?

Well if that information hasn’t changed your mind yet, then let’s get down to business.  Roasting is such an easy (and have I mentioned delicious?) way to prepare and eat this vegetable.  Seriously.  Easy.  And the results?  Let me say it again.  Yummy crunchy salty nutty goodness.  The pieces melt in your mouth.

First preheat your oven to 425 degrees.

Now start out by peeling off the green leafy parts from around the head of cauliflower.  I don’t have pictures of this because I didn’t think to start taking pictures until part way through my prep. 

Here it is without the leafy green part.  And with half the florets cut off.  Like I said, the picture-taking commenced half way into it.

Next, start cutting off the florets from the head.

Gather the florets into a pile on a baking sheet.  Keep them close together.

Now gather up your olive oil and salt.  I personally use kosher salt.  I’ve never tried table salt or sea salt, but I am very keen to try sea salt on this.  And yes, I just said keen.  Who says that anymore?  Apparently I do.

Here are mine.  Don’t judge my stove top.  It needs to be scrubbed.  I’d much rather be blogging playing with my kids than scrubbing my stove top.

Now pour some olive oil over the top.  Be generous but not obnoxious.  Maybe two to four tablespoons, depending on how much cauliflower you have.  Same with the salt.  Sprinkle a fair amount, maybe a teaspoon or two?  I really should measure next time I do this.  If you’re struggling to get it right let me know and I’ll measure for you.

Now toss the florets together to coat each piece with the oil and salt.  Then spread the florets out around the tray.  This is important.  If you keep them all clumped together it will create more of a steaming effect and you’ll get mushy cauliflower.  No one likes mushy cauliflower.  You want them spread out so each piece gets heat all around it.

Place in the oven and let them roast for about 10 minutes.  Pull the tray out and turn the pieces over.  I just take my flipper and try to flip them around as best I can.  If one doesn’t get flipped over, oh well.  Then place back in the oven and continue to roast another 5 to 10 minutes, depending on how brown you want them.  Personally I like mine brown and crunchy.

See?  Actually I pulled these out a little too early for my taste.  They were still yummy, but I like mine even browner.

Doesn’t that look scrumptious?

Mmmmm, now that’s what I’m talking about.

Convinced now?  I hope so.  Do try it out, it’s worth a shot, isn’t it?

Do you like cauliflower?  How do you prepare it?  If not, what vegetables does your family like to eat and how do you prepare them?

8 responses

  1. HOLY Cauliflower….sorry did not post right back but I have made this not once…but twice and I now LOVE roaasted cauliflower too!!! And both Mike and Vincenzo gobbled it up. I did use both cauliflower and broccoli, Vincenzo loves broccoli with anything 🙂 After removing from the oven I sprinkled with some parm cheese.yummmmmmmy!

  2. Pingback: Menu Plan 9/10 – 9/16 | Living the Dream

  3. I do one similar to this but after roasting you sprinkle with basalmic vinegar and a little parmesan, so awesome. Of course I could almost drink basalmic vinegar so… This also works great with brussel sprouts either tiny whole ones or cut in half and my kids gobble them up. We love brussel sprouts so we fit right in with the cauliflower lovers!

    • That sounds fantastic Laura! Actually we’re having ravioli tonight for dinner, and we sprinkle balsamic, EVOO and parmesan on those, so I might just roast the cauliflower and toss it all together! We might have to try brussel sprouts — I don’t know that I’ve ever had them, but roasted might be a good way to try!

  4. Pingback: Menu Plan 10/1 – 10/7 | Living the Dream

Leave a Reply

