Menu Plan 4/9 to 4/15

Every Thursday I plan to share what our meal plan is for the upcoming week.  Meal planning is one of the easiest, most controllable things you can do for your family to save money and eat healthier.  

I typically shop on Thursday or Friday because that is when our local stores typically start their “special sales”.  That and I don’t like shopping on the weekends because a) the stores are more crowded and b) we’re usually pretty busy on the weekends and I hate taking time away from family time for grocery shopping. My meal plan goes from Saturday through Friday.  We typically eat out once a week, usually on Fridays, although we might change that up a bit to take advantage of kids eat cheap/free nights on the other days of the week.

For lunch the girls usually eat either tuna fish, hot dogs, peanut butter and jelly, grilled cheese, or quesadillas, along with fruit, organic mac & cheese, yogurt, or some other quick and easy sides.  Chad usually takes leftovers as his lunch to work.   I usually have leftovers if they need to be eaten up, or will eat whatever the girls are eating.

So here is what is on the agenda for us this week.  Ugh. When I mentioned last week how it’s getting harder to meal plan with me not eating cheese and beans, man, I did NOT realize what a pain it was.  Because we eat a LOT of cheese.  And beans.  Primarily because we eat a lot of Mexican, which typically has, well, cheese and beans.   The bean thing won’t go away after Lent, but at least I can start eating cheese again.  And I admit, I do miss it.  A lot.  🙂

Saturday: Grilled turkey sausages, fried potatoes, veggie.

Sunday:  Sour Cream Pork Chops over noodles, veggie

Monday:  Lime Chicken Soft Tacos, Cilantro Lime rice — I’m attempting to make rice similar to what goes into Chipotle burritos.  Mmmm, Chipotle.

Tuesday:  Grilled BBQ Chicken, some kind of potatoes, veggie

Wednesday:  Spaghetti, homemade garlic pull-apart bread

Thursday:  Leftovers or breakfast for dinner (potato/egg/ham scramble or maybe pancakes)

Friday:  Final Fish Fry at church.  If we make it.  I love our church Fish Fry, but by the last week I’m all Fish Fried out.

On the shopping list for this week: 

My goal is to spend under $100 each week on groceries.  This week I’m only shopping at Price Chopper.  Again.  Hy-Vee just doesn’t have anything on that good of sale again to justify the two-store trip.  And I rarely shop Hen House because while I love the stores and the employees, their prices are just almost always higher than PC or HyVee.  And I already went to Costco to get some milk, tortilla chips, salsa and coffee.

For fruit and veggie we’ll do the usual bananas, a few apples, a pineapple for $2.99 and a canteloupe for $1.49.  Cauliflower is on sale for $2, and one of my favorite veggies is roasted cauliflower.  Seriously, it’s amazing.  I’ll have to post about it sometime.  You’ll have to try it.  I mean it.  You will.  Just trust me.  And some tomato, avocado and cilantro and lime for the chicken tacos on Monday.

For dairy we need just a few yogurts, a brick of cheddar cheese, and almond milk.  Why almond milk?  Because Lizzie has a milk intolerance, so no cow’s milk for momma.  I know, she has a bad time with beans, a milk intolerance, and she still wakes up 3 to 4 times per night.  That’s a whole ‘nother post.  Actually a whole ‘nother many posts. 

As I said before, pork chops are on sale for $1.99/lb.  I’ll probably by an extra packet for a later use too.  Oh, and chicken breasts are on sale for $1.19 per pound.  Since chicken tends to be on sale all winter and then never during the summer, I’ll probably buy 4-5 packages for now, even though I have a pretty stocked freezer of chicken. 

And just a few miscellaneous items, like ketcup and tortillas.  Although I keep swearing I’m going to make homemade tortillas. Maybe I will for Monday.  But I like to have backups in case mine go terribly wrong.

So I’m kicking off April on a good start with spending only $50 at PC!  Now I did spend over $50 at Costco today (post coming tomorow on my Costco thoughts) for 3 gallons of milk (should get us through the next 3 weeks), 2 bags of chips, 2 containers of salsa and 2 lbs of coffee, but we also had $30 in rebates to use up so it only cost about $20.  So my total spend this week is around $70, still waaaayyyyyy under my $100 budget.  Woo hoo!

What’s on your menu for the next week?

6 responses

  1. btw, i would LOVE to know what your egg and ham bake recipe is for breakfast for dinner! And, i didn’t even realize Costco carried organic milk for around $3/half gallon. I buy half gallons from target for $3.59 each but save 5% so not sure if there would be that much of a difference but i may have to check it out!

    • My egg and ham recipe is actually not a bake, just a skillet recipe. Just cook up some cubed or sliced potatoes, whatever you prefer, then when they’re almost done add some chopped or cubed ham and heat through. Scramble up some eggs with a bit of milk. Turn the heat down a bit, pour the eggs over the potato/ham mixture. When eggs are almost done throw a few handfuls of shredded cheese on top. Serve with salsa, ketchup, and/or hot sauce. Oh, and biscuits too. Very easy and very yummy!

  2. Pingback: Menu Plan 4/16 to 4/23 « Living the Dream

  3. Pingback: I *heart* roasted cauliflower. Yes, you read that right. « Living the Dream

  4. Pingback: Menu Plan 4/23 to 4/29 « Living the Dream

Leave a Reply

