Let me introduce myself…

Hi!  I’m LeeAnn and welcome to my blog, Living the Dream.  After years and years of reading and commenting on my favorite blogs I’ve finally made the decision to take the plunge myself.  Living the Dream is about how I’m living my version of the “American Dream”.  I have the husband — an amazing man, Chad (referred to hereafter as “The Husband” or TH) who is so supportive and patient with me and all of my crazy ideas and endeavors.  I have the 2.3 kids — well, okay, my three kids, since apparently they don’t actually come in fractional sizes – my beautiful blonde-haired blue-eyed devils angels, Caroline “Carlie”, Madeline “Maddie” and Elizabeth “Lizzie”.

This is Maddie and Carlie.  Cuties, aren’t they?  Don’t be fooled.

This is the baby, Lizzie.  I guess I misspoke when I said I had three blonde-haired, blue-eyed angels.  We’re not sure what color hair hers is yet.  I’m just guessing blonde since she looks just like her older sisters.  But you never know.

Anyway, we also live in a nice house in the suburbs of the Kansas City metro area.  We’re just missing the white picket fence and dog and/or cat to complete the American Dream.  I used to have the well-paying corporate job but recently ditched cubicle-heaven to stay at home with my motley crew.  (Ask me if I miss it.  The answer is no.) 

You’ll see a majority of my posts focus on money.  I’m a cheap thrifty person by nature, just ask my parents or sister.  When I was a kid I’d save and save and save my money and would spend hours deciding what to purchase.  I hesitate to part with my money very quickly and always want to make sure I’m getting my money’s worth.  Especially since we’re a one-income family now.  TH and I work hard to earn our money and we want to spend it wisely and on items that that will help us live the life we value, to be able to live our dream.  I hope you all will benefit from learning about some of our family’s methods for determining what purchases we make and how to make our dollars work for us. 

What else might you want to know about me?  I love to cook and bake.  I think I do both well, although I’m sure TH might disagree from time to time (my recent attempt at homemade falafel was a disaster).  Lately I’ve been focusing more on natural, organic healthy eating.  Balancing that with being cheap frugal is tough, but I’m figuring it out.  I used to be an avid reader before Things 1 through 3 came along, but still manage to squeeze a good novel in from time to time.  I’ve recently taken an interest in photography as we just purchased a digital SLR and love taking pictures of the rugrats.  I can spend hours (if I had hours) on the internet reading important material that greatly enhance my intellect – you know, like Facebook, Twitter and all the blogs I read.  I’m a TV-aholic too.  I do manage to get some chores done in between all of this.  I’m a practicing Catholic and am continually striving to be more like how Jesus wants me to be.  You’ll probably see a lot of posts on these topics too.  And if you haven’t figured it out yet, know that I speak fluent sarcasm, so please do forgive all the snarky comments and take no offense to anything I say.  Because I probably don’t mean it.  Most of the time.

Welcome!

~LeeAnn

7 responses

  1. Love it! Can’t wait to see your money saving posts. Are you going to the Penny Pinching mom seminar? Also, let me know when you find deals on healthy eating or organic and I will do the same.

      • I probably won’t go to the Penny Pinchin’ Mom seminar. I subscriber to Tracie’s daily email digest and follow her on FB and Twitter, but honestly I do’nt really “coupon”. I use coupons when I know I have one for an item I need, but I try to just buy what I need and/or what’s on sale. If you go let me know what you think.

        Yes, when I find anything related to healthy eating/organic I will certainly share!!!

  2. Traci is the bomb and a personal friend of mine. Her classes are amazing! We’ve had the opportunity to work on several blogging projects together and she really is fun to listen and learn from!

Leave a Reply

